1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xvid?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by spikerules, Aug 26, 2005.

  1. spikerules

    spikerules
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guy's,

    I just installed media center 2005 today and was a bit upset to see that Microsoft hasn't given up the fight and opted to support xvid files! Is there any way to MAKE it support them?
     
  2. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Just install the xvid codec to your MCE machine.
     
  3. spikerules

    spikerules
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've done what you have suggested and Windows Media Center just crashes out to desktop everytime I install the codec! When the codec is not on my HD the media center works fine!

    Any other suggestions?
     
  4. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    Try the Divx codec from www.divx.com...
     
  5. spikerules

    spikerules
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That worked wonders... thanks!

    May I ask what the difference is to using either xvid or divx?
    Thanks
    Spike
     
  6. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    There both different codecs/compression formats, though similar in nature, Not sure but last time I when I had xvid videos I just installed the divx codec and it acts as a decoder for xvid files as well as divx....
     
  7. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Weird - I have the latest xvid codec to decode divx and xvid!! Anyway, glad it worked eventually. :)
     
  8. spikerules

    spikerules
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The same thing has happened again with the divx codec! Maybe its ffdshow screwing it up? I tried uninstalling ffdshow, but media center still crashes. I need to uninstall the codec for it to work. What is going on!?

    Thanks
    Spike
     
  9. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Eek :eek:
    This was the most difficult thing to get over for me when I set up MCE, I found that installing the minimum amount of codecs as possible was the key. Also make sure you have the latest official MCE supported drivers for your graphics card.

    I just have the nvidia dvd codec, the latest xvid codec to decode divx/xvid files, and divx3.11 for older divx files, and ac3 filter.

    That seems to play back everything and has been stable for a while.

    lisa
     
  10. spikerules

    spikerules
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know its a real shambles:) Oh well back to the drawing board! hehe
     

Share This Page

Loading...