1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XPMCE2005 to Panasonic Plasma - too red??

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by lisag, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,696
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +336
    I have a Windows XP Media Center 2005 Shuttle PC, using Nvidia FX5200 graphics card, connected via VGA to a Panasonic TH37PW7 plasma screen.

    It is 100% better than TV-out to my old CRT, but, it is TOO RED and is very annoying. :mad:

    The excess red is noticeable on the desktop and in video playback, I have tried adjusting everything that is adjustable and have made it slightly better, such as gamma, hus, saturation etc.. but is there a way of just turning down the red colour channel.... a little piece of software maybe?
     
  2. Big Adam

    Big Adam
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
    Are you using the standard nVidia catalyst drivers? If so, are they the latest revision?

    Alternatively, go for the latest optimised drivers for nVidia cards from Omega
     
  3. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,696
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +336
    HI, yes I have all the latest official drivers, XP Media Center is really fussy about drivers, so not sure if third party ones will work - I will give it a try though. Also just discovered that Powerstrip has color adjustments so will try that when I get home too.

    :)
     
  4. stevelup

    stevelup
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,125
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +838
    Hi

    It is quite easy to adjust the red gain on your plasma but it involves going into the service menu.

    Press and hold VOL- on the plasma itself. Now, press the OSD button on the plasma remote three times.

    Go to the IIC menu. The very first menu option is red gain.

    Steve
     
  5. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,696
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +336
    :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

    You have no idea how much time you have saved me!!!

    I also found the horizontal and vertical position adjustments, and calibrated the display using the Media Center Set Up Video.... it's all good... I had to decipher the secret code of course in the 'hidden menu'. Its my plasma, why don't they just put these settings in the manual... :rolleyes:

    Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou

    lisa
     
  6. stevelup

    stevelup
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,125
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +838
    You're welcome.

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...