1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XP Service Pack 2

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Steve Bate, Aug 19, 2004.

  1. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    Anyone applied SP2 and not recommend it?

    Steve
     
  2. mevetts

    mevetts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have not done it yet, but probably will. Can we requst it on CD as I only have a dial-up :eek: and not sure it would download before my patience would be severely tested! :suicide:

    Cheers,

    Mark.
     
  3. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Installed it and it cured a number of driver/PCI Bus issues I had. All good nothing bad from my one install.

    I have to say that machine was getting on my wick with it's failure to recognise PCI devices and research led me to a known XP bug affecting the registry.

    I've not plucked up the courage to install it on any of my machines that are working OK.

    Mark.
     
  4. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,150
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    Put it on 4 machines so far and not seen any problems yet.

    One troubled machine does seem a lot happier with life since the upgrade!

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  5. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,767
    I loaded it on one of my computers and it caused problems with my Logitech MX-700 mouse. The pointer randomly went on excursions of it's own around the screen ! I've now uninstalled it and the mouse is working OK.
    I've spoken to Microsoft about this and they say it's not a known problem and have given me some things to try if I decide to load it again.
     
  6. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I installed the distributors version (280MB!) and had no problems.

    I've uninstalled it now and I am waiting for the official XP Pro consumer release.
     
  7. Lostinapc

    Lostinapc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've installed it on two pcs with no trouble.
    I think I have the MX-700 logitech (cordless & rechargeable RF) and have had no problems with that.

    Robert
     
  8. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,767
    Which drivers are you using for the MX-700 ? I'm just using the standard ones that XP loads. I've also got it plugged into the PS2 port rather than USB.
     
  9. Lostinapc

    Lostinapc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think mine is in the usb port, i also have the updated drivers from logitech (www.logitech.com i would imagine) you have to go through support or downloads.
    i'd find a link but i'm about to leave work!
    hope that clears it up!
     
  10. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    Article in the latest Computer Active magazine on this very subject!! :thumbsup:
     
  11. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
  12. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    Is it available on CD?
     
  13. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I know it only installs what's required but it saves all the install files in the root drive in 2 places, which takes up about 800MB of space.
    I'm sure one of the folders can be deleted, but I'm not sure about the other one which means another 400MB of wasted disk space, making my Ghost image even bigger.
     
  14. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,767
    I've loaded on the logitech drivers for my mouse so may give it another go when it's released. One problem with the logitech drivers is that they won't detect the mouse properly through a KVM switch.
     

Share This Page

Loading...