1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XP PRO PC has slooooowed dowwwwnnn! :`(

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by thestorm, Dec 2, 2002.

  1. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi all

    Im running a PC based on an Athlon 750Mhz processor and
    256RAM. I have about 100GB to use of which about 30GB is
    spare.

    The operating system Im using is : Windows XP Pro

    The problem is :
    my pc has slowed right down, i didnt install
    anything for this to happen. Also what is odd is MSN Messenger
    doesn't work (but Yahoo Messenger does!!)
    and I can't access my hotmail on this pc.
    The above works fine when i use my Pc at work.

    I can't think what it is, if u can give me any hints for a qucik fix
    even if its temporary that would be great.
    I hope to upgrade my PC in the new year.

    My Pc is mainly used for Internet, viewing VCDs,Newsgroups
    and burning Cd.

    thanks,
    Shaz
     
  2. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try emptying your temp directory. This is hidden so in Windows Explorer go tools, folder options, view. Click show all files and folders, then click ok. Under doccuments and setting under your user name, Click on local setting and then temp. Delete all the files in this directory. Then run scan disk and disk defrag. Reboot. You should hopefully see an improvment. :)
     
  3. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can delete temp files by running Disk Clean Up as well (find it in accessories).

    The defrag will be the most important thing for improving performance however. You should be defragging at least once a week.

    Also, try BootVis to improve startup time.

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=55477
     
  4. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi Sarj!

    I did all that yesterday and still no difference.
    i also went into the windows folder and there were 2,500
    temp files starting of the same name eg xyxa01.tmp
    or something liek that.
    I got rid of them.

    but the problem is still there. its strange how it affects msn messenger and not yahoo.

    looks like i'll have to format the hd disks.

    Shaz
     
  5. Sgt.Colon

    Sgt.Colon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tis a bit of an odd one. Is there anything running high under task manager?
     
  6. stormchaser

    stormchaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    hi
    is your disc fat 32 or ntfs,if fat 32 recommend converting to ntfs,what type of ram is it ie pc 100 ,pc133 etc,plus 256 isnt a lot of memory for xp pro try and get another 256.uninstall messenger completely and download the new messenger 5.
     
  7. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8


    Yeah it was a Norton program which ive DELETED via Safe Mode
    as it would refuse to delete. When it was running, cpu usage
    was 100%. Now ive delete it cpu usage is : 0% to 2%.
    not bad 'eh! ;)

    But hotmail \ msn still doesn't work,they won't let me login.
    (hotmail lets me log in at work). A friend say is Microsoft problem
    somewhere.

    The speed of my PC is back to normal.. ie Ford Mondeo
    not quite Porsche 911 yet.... . ;)

    Thanks for your help, i'll see if anyone else is having probs with
    msn.

    Cya,
    Shaz
     
  8. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
     
  9. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :eek: Madness!! FAT32 is for all those lame Windows releases before Win2k. Forget it - NTFS is far superior and if anything is likely to cause you problems in future, it will be using FAT32 with XP. In fact, can you even choose to use FAT32 with XP?? I didn't think you even could.
     
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes you can, so you can share files with older OS PC's on your network. Otherwise you can see theirs but they can't see yours. Excellent then! 2 kids in house.
     
  11. minimad

    minimad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried to use the new version of messenger with XP Pro too.

    Wouldn't work for me, XP wouldn't even let me install it!

    rebuilt the PC and carried on using the version supplied with PRO.

    Sweet!
     
  12. fat tom

    fat tom
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you don't need an old file system to share files with old clients... the local machine accesses the HDD on behalf of the remote request, not the otherway round........

    NTFS is more stable supports bigger disks and altogether better......

    my opinion as an IT consultant :cool:

    - Fat Tom -
     
  13. Walter mitty

    Walter mitty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you say MSN doesn`t work, do you mean it totally wont sighn, in or is it just that the email part of it wont go to the email page?
    Ive had this problem twice and it can be sorted easy.
     
  14. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why did you rebuild the PC? MSN Messenger 5 doesn't uninstall Windows Messenger, and you can even use both of them at the same time (if you sign in with two different names).
     
  15. minimad

    minimad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I tried installing I was already getting errors. One of the other threads mentioned that I killed the machine through overheating. This was all around the same time and when I rebuilt the PC I just left the original messenger running. I may go back and try it again though.

    What advantages does it give over v4.x (currently 4.7)?
     
  16. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8


    Hi Walter

    -it tottaly doesn't sign in
    -hotmail doesn't let me log in

    and one other prob, when i goto "your account" at amazon.co.uk
    after signing it it gives me "Cannot find server or DNS Error
    Internet Explorer ", i get the same when signing into hotmail

    both web sites work fine at my pc at work.
    i havent been able to test msn messasenger as we're not
    allowed to install programs!

    Cya,
    Shaz
     
  17. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nothing major. Only things I've noticed is that it looks flashier, the sounds are much, much nicer (used to hate those old "biddly-bom" sounds :() and when you're sending loads of files to someone using the file transfer, it lets you queue up additional files while one is still transferring (couldn't do that before). There's no new smilies or anything so don't lose sleep over it ;) I could never get 4.X to work on my work PC (win2k), but ver. 5 works great - thank gawd! :D


    Could be any number of things. But common causes are:
    • Your internet connection is not configured correctly. You'd get an error like that if you were using an incorrect proxy server, or if you were using a proxy server when you didn't need to (or didn't have access rights for), etc. I'd reinstall your ISP software to see if that solves the problem.
    • Your firewall is preventing access to particular sites. Try turning it off and accessing Amazon and Hotmail and logging into MSN.
    • The WinXP internal firewall is stuffing things up (very common occurence!). Turn it off by right-clicking on your ISP icon in "Network Connections" and unticking the option on the Advanced tab.
     
  18. Walter mitty

    Walter mitty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well for what it`s worth, I`d put my money on Norton anti virus and /or Norton firewall if you have these installed, Even if you think you have deleted them (and that is sometimes not so easy) they can still remain esspecially if you have windows XP, due to the system restore program. You must ensure that you find all traces of them they are usually in there twice.

    I had to go into my C drive and delete them manually, you may find it will not allow you to do this, as in my case, So the answer was to delete each individual file inside until I was left with only the one remaining culprit which I was then able to delete later.

    I hope this is your problem.
     
  19. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are going to make sure that any Symantec/Norton programs are fully deleted, then you will find some manual deletion instructions (as well as an additional uninstall download) at www.symantec.com - makes the whole thing much easier than trying to hunt for all the files yourself. Just search for it in the support area of the website :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...