Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

XP Pro or XP home?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by zAndy1, Aug 24, 2004.

  1. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,001
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,432
    Is there any advantage to using XP Pro on a HTPC instead of XP Home? Going to get an OEM copy but Pro is quite a bit more expensive so I'll get home as long as there aren't any disadvantages to that. Also is it worth getting it with SP2 or are there issues with that?

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  2. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +141
    As far as I understand, XP-professional has more bangs and whistles, esp if youpaln on networking your home PC's.

    I currently have XP-home on my network but i will probablu upgrade.

    from talking to the chaps in IT here at work, if youcan afford XP-pro, gofor it

    Adrian
     
  3. Gillykid

    Gillykid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    The two major differences is that XP Pro has IIS built in (if you want to host an ASP based web site) and it can connect to a domain (not an issue unless you have some serious equipment at home).

    Other than that there is not a lot in it. ;)
     
  4. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    xp pro also has remote control which can be handy for htpc's.

    CaM
     
  5. pinkerton

    pinkerton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ealing (London)
    Ratings:
    +3
    All the above is correct but also XP Pro is compatable with dual processor systems.
     
  6. Lostinapc

    Lostinapc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go for XP Home, I have XP Pro and it was a waste of money!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice