1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XP New Motherboard PC Crashes - won't boot

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by MartinImber, Mar 17, 2004.

  1. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    My PC Crashed on Friday today they fitted a new motherboard but the PC will not boot up - it wants a reinstall.!!!

    I have unreplaceable pictures and ISO files on C: I don't want to lose - any ideas please?
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Restore from a backup. :)

    Sorry, but really if they are irreplaceable why haven't you got a backup copy, what happens when the disk dies as they do from time to time? :eek:

    I presume the new mobo is not the same model as the old one, this means XP's low-level chipset drivers can't initialise the board and hence XP can't boot. In theory you could re-install and overwrite the current Windows tree while at the same time preserving your files, in practice I personally have never tried it.

    For complete safety, in the absence of any backup, I'd get a new disk, install on to that and then copy the files you need off the old one. This of course presumes you have a full XP install CD and not one of the crass 'recovery CDs' one gets with new machines these days.

    If you've a CD/DVD burner and some DOS-based software you may be able to save the files to optical media.
     
  3. mrtonywade

    mrtonywade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what Os are you running??? you should be able to reinstall windows without lossing anything, if not your have to boot from floppy into dos and recover your files manually

    or as KraGorn says
    above. with a new hard drive, unless you already have a d: drive
    partiotion on your current drive, in which case you could do a new install on that drive
    good luck
     
  4. mrtonywade

    mrtonywade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    back up your hard drive often
     
  5. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Firstly I can't burn as RAM only as VIDEO

    Secondly I didn't get round to it as my wife downloads and I backup

    I am being lent another 80GB drive to reinstall!
     
  6. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    At least I know why they want to "Kill Bill" - annoyed XP owners!!!
     
  7. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Come on, you can't blame that on XP, if the motherboard has been changed you can't expect it to boot up!

    Dave
     
  8. vulkan75

    vulkan75
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've reinstalled xp on a hard disc using the "keep current file settings intact no changes" option and had no probs accessing my saved data..;)
     
  9. bccsl

    bccsl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Beverley
    Ratings:
    +7
    If you really need to resurect a dead installation, this is how you do it:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;237556&Product=win2000
    You need to use the recovery console section, this article describes Windows 2000 but the process is the same for XP. I would try copying in the standard HAL file, this usually works then once you've backed your files of it's best to rebuild.
     
  10. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Linux most likely would. :D
     
  11. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    If you (or someone yo know) has another PC why not stick the HD in that for half an hour and copy all the files you need to that, then you can simply reformat and reinstall on your original machine.

    Regards,
    Owain
     
  12. pringtef

    pringtef
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,049
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +70
  13. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    I had exactly the same problem when I changed motherboards. Turned out after re-formatting and re-installing didn't work that they had released a new BIOS. Downloaded and flashed the BIOS, system worked a treat. Only problem was that I had lost all my data. Oh well.

    BTW - The MB was an ASUS Deuluxe which was the best.
     
  14. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Anyway I managed to copy all my files to a spare drive, then reset the original and booted off the CD.

    After an hour of reinstalling I had Windows again but only insafe mode - I had to remove local user RUN stuff.

    Just got to sort out the sound card now!

    Thanks everyone
     

Share This Page

Loading...