1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xp Mce Codec problems

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by dazzer123, Feb 2, 2005.

  1. dazzer123

    dazzer123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-On-Trent
    Ratings:
    +3
    I am trying to get my Mce setup running correctly and am having a few problem's mainly in Media Center when tryig to view Tv or Playback Dvd i get sound and no picture.

    I have downloaded Microsofts Decchek utility and i have Nvidia,Cyberlink and Intervideo codecs installed and are all Mce compatible and have tried setting all of them as the prefered codec for Media Center but i still can not get a picture would anybody have any idea what could be causing this.

    AMD XP 3200+
    ASUS ATI 9550
    512MB DDR 400
    200 Gig Maxtor
    Pioneer 109
    Windows Xp Mce
     
  2. hutters

    hutters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    I had a similar problem - no dvd playback, but because I had no codecs installed - so I closed down media centre to get the normal XP desktop and played a dvd through mediaplayer. Because no codecs were installed it pointed me to M$ website where I downloaded and installed the nvidia codecs.

    It may be worth trying to play a dvd through mediaplayer in this way because if it works then you know mediaplayer is ok and that it's something in MCE that's causing the problems.
     
  3. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +398
    MCE2005 is really fussy about codecs, I had loads of problems in this area, and the only way I got it working properly was to do a clean install and keep codec installations and all installations as minimal as possible, I think 'vanilla' is the term.

    I currently (fingers crossed) have MCE2005 running flawlessly and playing back all video files in very high quality using this combination of codecs...

    Cyberlink PowerDVD 6
    AC3 filter
    Xvid only codec

    And No OTHER CODECS!
    Cyberlink has Divx codecs included

    hope this helps
    lisa
     
  4. dazzer123

    dazzer123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-On-Trent
    Ratings:
    +3
    Cheers after banging my head repeatedly off the wall I decided to update my graphics card drivers and guess what problem solved I presumed that as the Operating system accepted the original drivers that they would be Mce compatible how wrong I was.
     
  5. Derek22

    Derek22
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    dazzer

    any chance you could post a link to that decchek utility, or is it part of the os. I found the latest carylst drivers solved my problem but before I found that solution I tried both power dvd software and intervideo software and would like to see which one mce is using before doing a fresh install.

    ta
     
  6. dazzer123

    dazzer123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-On-Trent
    Ratings:
    +3
  7. Derek22

    Derek22
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    thanks for that usefull tool.
     

Share This Page

Loading...