1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XP Desktop Resolution

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Nobber, Feb 27, 2005.

  1. Nobber

    Nobber
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Has any one managed to achieve a crisp clear desk top from their HTPC, if so what PJ and Video card are you using


    thanks
    Nobber
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    It's something nearly everyone with an HTPC does .. I'm not sure you're asking the right question. :)

    Do you understand what 1:1 mapping is? This is where you set your desktop resolution to match the native panel size of your display. When you do that each pixel in the image fits exactly into 1 pixel in the display, just like it does when using, say, an LCD computer monitor.

    To do this it's often necessary to use Powerstrip to set the resolution you need, though depending on the graphics card you may be able to do it
    with the cards' own drivers.
     
  3. Ar-Jar

    Ar-Jar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I might have replied before... sorry if I repeat myself. The only way I can get that much coveted 1:1 mapping is using VGA to the pj. With the right Powerstrip tweaks i can tune my HS10 into accepting 1368 by 768. Very crisp and very 1:1. But only one frame rate. And the wrong one. With any other protocol than the VGA (such as DVI/GRB) my pj overscans. This mean that it's very hard (if not impossible) to get a 1:1 mapping. But a PAL DVD has only 576 lines so this is not a big issue (until you start playing HiDef materia). And if I have to choose between a 1:1 mapping and the correct frame rate i choose the correct frame rate.

    -A
     
  4. Nobber

    Nobber
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello

    Yeah I mean 1 to 1 I have set the desktop to 1366*768 which is the native resolution for the PJ, but I get overscan and a blurry picture, I have a Sony VPL VW11HT and a Nvidia 6600GT

    I have to feed the PJ with a component signal as there is no vga on it! I have given up with this PJ as I do not believe it is possible to get a crisp clear desktop without overscan, I have also posted questions re this issue here and on AVS but no one appears to have a solution

    My 6600GT has 2 DVI and 1 component output, so I will probably have to junk the card for a 6600gt with DVI & VGA then buy a Sony HS50 PJ..........

    When will it end!

    Nobber
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I've seen in the past people have problems with this resolution projector, as far as I can make out it's because the horizontal resolution isn't a multiple of 8 which seems to upset the graphics card.
     

Share This Page

Loading...