1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xecutor 3 and Live

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by MacReady, Mar 27, 2005.

  1. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    A couple of friends have persauded me to get on Live with my Xbox and (after some help from on her) I know what kit I need to get connected...but after reading a few threads it seems I may have a problem in that my XBox is chipped.

    I had the Xecutor 3 chip fitted (not the CE) so I could output in Hi Def to my projector. I dont play copied games (I really dont..that was never the intention of the mod for me) so am not worried about that but dont want to join Live and then get my account froze due to using a chipped Box.

    If I switch the X3 off before joining Live will I be OK or is there still a chance it will be picked up on?
     
  2. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    If you have not changed the hard drive then you will be fine. If you have changed the hard drive but not yet been on Live then you are also fine. If you have been on Live and then changed the hard drive (doesnt sound like it) then you will have a problem going back on Live.

    MS might eventually find a way of banning you with or without the chip turned on, but not for a while yet, I hope! :)
     
  3. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Well from that it sounds like I will be OK.

    I have not changed the hard drive. I have read similar posts but just wanted to be sure before I subscribe to Live.
     
  4. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    I also recently installed X3 in my xbox to be able to switch the console to NTSC, but havn't tried live yet. As long as the light is red on the X3 panel (mod disabled) and you havn't changed the hdd, should be ok. Not sure if X3 puts any files modified or otherwise on the HDD that MS could check for?
     
  5. wallzy

    wallzy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    i have a modded xbox a changed the h/d but i am still able to use live its all to do with the way the h/d is formatted when its installed

    wallzy
     
  6. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    Wallzy im afraid its not that simple. the xbox wont even let you near Live unless the hard drive is locked, but the main problem is the fact that MS link your hard drive serial with your xbox serial, if you go on Live before changing hard drive, and then after changing hard drive your xbox gets banned.
     
  7. wallzy

    wallzy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    i have been on XBL before and after my xbox was chipped and all was fine
     
  8. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    You are saying you went on XBL, then modded the xbox and changed the hard drive, then went back on XBL?

    There was a huge article on xbox-scene that says everybody who did this got banned.
     
  9. wallzy

    wallzy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    ive defanatly been back on xbl since my xbox has been modded
     
  10. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    The Wife is making me wait until I get paid to buy all the stuff:thumbsdow but when I get paid I am going to buy a Netgear DG834 and the XBox Live starter pack...


    ...Best way to find out if I am OK with the X3 is to just jump in and try I suppose;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...