1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XCard SPDIF Cable

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by sneaky, Jan 23, 2004.

  1. sneaky

    sneaky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    What type of cable do I need to from the DVD to the SPDIF output on the XCard. The XCard connector seems to have only 2 pins.

    Thanks
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    You don't connect the DVD to the SPD/IF directly, the audio bitstream is extracted by the player software as it reads/plays the DVD data and sent out via the SPD/IF on the back ... I admit to not knowing the purpose of that SPD/IF input on the card but it's not needed for DVD playback.
     
  3. sneaky

    sneaky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ill try that when I get home.

    So all I need to do is plug my coaxial cable into the back of the XCard.

    Will it be the same of I am using TT.

    Thanks
     
  4. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    No, you'll need to connect the cable to your sound card's SPD/IF socket when using TT .. the separate audio output from the X-Card is a bit of a pain from that regard.
     
  5. sneaky

    sneaky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    So when we play cd's on the PC why do we need a cable between the cd player and the soundcard.
     
  6. Big Adam

    Big Adam
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
    You don't. Common misconception.
    Unplug the cable. You'll find the signal is travelling down your IDE cable. :eek:
     
  7. sneaky

    sneaky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I didnt know that.

    Ill give it a go.

    Why do they supply you with a sound cable to go from the CD then.

    Kragorn

    A little of thread. But I have put a Matrox G550 into my machine while I wait for the Radeon, I have played Lord of the rings through TT and the close ups lokk great, excellent definition etc.

    But when the camera pans round the shire it is seems a touch jerky - any ideas.

    Thanks

    Fellas

    Thanks Adam.
     
  8. _Sin

    _Sin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Perhaps the refresh rate of your display-mode doesn't match what your DVD player is decoding at?

    So if it's film based stuff at 24fps, you want a mulitple of that for the display mode - I think 72Hz is the usual rate to go with. PAL video sources are 25fps, NTSC can be 29.94 or 30 (IIRC - anyone please correct me if I'm wrong there). Multiply the source rate by 2 or 3 and try to get your display mode as accurate as possible.
     
  9. sneaky

    sneaky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    The film was LOTR (R2 PAL) - How do you tell if it is video or film.
     
  10. sneaky

    sneaky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does it matter what resolution is set on the Matrox G550.
     
  11. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +184
    All PAL disks are 25fps so set your refresh rate to 50 or 75 or 100.

    50 is best if your monitor can do it.
     
  12. sneaky

    sneaky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks DJ,

    The matrox can only do 75.

    Do you know much about the sweetspot/xcard combo as I am a little confused about a few things.

    Chris
     

Share This Page

Loading...