1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XBOX360 with VGA connector

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Venom1924, Aug 18, 2005.

  1. Venom1924

    Venom1924
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was wondering if anyone knew what the quality difference, if any between component and VGA?? As i dont want to remove my DVD player from my component unless absolutely necessary.

    Thanks
     
  2. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,798
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,961
    They are both pretty much the same to be honest providing that you have leads of equal quality. Both are analogue connections capable of delivering HD material. VGA can deliver higher resolutions but as most 360 games will be 720p this isn't a huge factor.
     
  3. c.jelly

    c.jelly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    222
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    The advantage that VGA has for me and my HDTV is that it will allow me to have 1:1 pixel mapping so everything will look that bit sharper. :thumbsup:
     
  4. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,798
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,961
    A lot of HD displays (especially those with HDTV compatable logo's) have a native resolution of 720p which means that the 720p component output will have 1:1 pixel mapping on those displays. Admitidly if you don't have a native 720p display then things will be different.
     
  5. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Personally I prefer VGA. It also frees up the component connector on the PJ :)
     
  6. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508

    You wont get 1:1 pixel mapping with a analouge signal. Only a digital signal will do this ie DVI/HDMI.

    Does anyone know if there is a DVI/HDMI connector being sold on release day? :confused:

    :D
     
  7. c.jelly

    c.jelly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    222
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    I will on my TV.

    :clap:
     
  8. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508
    1:1 pixel mapping is only achived from a digital signal. You can not get it from a an analouge signal. Its impossible. This is one of the major benifits of digital connections..
     
  9. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,798
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,961
    You can get a 1:1 signal from both analogue (component/VGA) and digital (HDMI/DVI). All that 1:1 means is that you are displaying the image in it's native resolution (i.e. a 1280x720 image on a 1280x720 display). Whether the signal is digital or analogue doesn't matter at all.

    VGA is essentially RGBHV and it's quality depends on the length of the cable and the shielding of the wires. RGBHV generally gives a better picture as there are 5 separate wires where as VGA has them all in one handy connector. The only problem is that signal degridation is worse in a VGA connector unless the cable is well shielded and not too long. Component is of similar quality as RGBHV. A component connection and good VGA connection can look very similar and as long as you use decent cables (which are not too long) the image should be pretty much the same. Fortunately my PJ has 2 component connectors (X-Box & PS2) a VGA connector (DC) and an HDMI connector (PC). The quality of image from all three consoles is basically the same with the DVI>HDMI connection from my PC being the best.
     
  10. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    as cas states this statement is incorrect, its a simple matter of the output res matching the Display resolution perfectly wether its VGA/DVI it dosnt matter. think im gonna stick with component out of the box and wait for the reviews/comparisons of VGA and decide wether to 'upgrade'
     
  11. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508
    With a VGA signal you can stretch and squash the picture via the display but with a digital signal you cant do this. Each pixel has its own place. I understand what you are trying to say but this is surely not ture 1:1 pixel mapping as the pixels dont have a pre allocated position like they do with a digital signal. Try this on a LCD pc monitor or DLP display and you will see what I mean.

    When I input a VGA (analouge) signal into my HD DLP rear pro (RD65) you can mess around with the picture ie move the picture around the screen and alter the aspect ratio. With a digital feed ie DVI this is not possible. This is why you have such adjustments on a CRT/LCD monitor in case the display or source doesnt place the picture in the right place (analouge).
    The digital feed places the picture where it should be ie 1:1 pixel mapping.

    :)
     
  12. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    er, can I post a word of caution...

    This is an Xbox 360 thread. Whether it'll do 1:1 pixel mapping or even output a resolution that your screen will accept over VGA is very much down to the console.

    Is it even aimed at TVs with VGA inputs, or is it more for people with VGA monitors?

    Its unlikely to have powerstrip installed on it :p

    - will you get 1280x720? 1280x1024 letterboxed?
    - Will it force 60Hz over VGA?
     
  13. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    go find my old thread with the xbox 360 slides in spanish ;) just a hint
     
  14. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,798
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,961
    It doesn't matter at all whether the signal is transmitted in analogue or by digital means. You can still get 1:1 pixel mapping. Whether you connect via VGA or DVI doesn't matter, you can still achieve 1:1. See this atricle here
     
  15. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,798
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,961
    It outputs a full range of VGA resolutions as well as the standard HD resolutions 720p, 1080i etc via component.

    720p Widescreen is 1280x720 which is the native res of my PJ so I will get 1:1 pixel mapping from that.
     
  16. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    that statement = heaven :D. i shall be doing likewise :thumbsup:

    VGA will support a few Res's inc the usual suspects 720,1080i. 640x480 & 1024x768 are supported but aint seen anything about 1280x1024
     
  17. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +30
    Surely its only 1:1 if you get you TV setting PERFECTLY correct?

    I.e. stretch and move the picture until you have lined up the images pixels with the monitors pixels.

    Couldn't that take forever, possibly even be unattainable?
     
  18. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,651
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +6,301
    I know bugger all about HDMI/DVI, Component and everything else talked about here but will learn someday when I can afford to technology but for now could someone just reply to my question below with a simple yes or no.

    If I get the XBOX360 VGA cable, will I be able to hook up my 360 to my LCD monitor and play games through it?

    The only reason I am considering this is so that I can play online as the distance between my TV and computer wouldnt make online play practical but with the 360 hooked upto my monitor and right next to my PC it would be alot easier to get online.

    Hope this question isnt to primitive :D
     
  19. c.jelly

    c.jelly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    222
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes, the Xbox 360 will work on a monitor with a VGA cable.
     
  20. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,651
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +6,301
    Thanks for answering, will have to order the RGB Scart and VGA Cable now.
     
  21. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    yes you will be able to. for the time being i dont recall there being any definate quotes on what resolutions will be outputted over VGA bar the usual 480p,720p and 1080i. for example i have a 17" TFT native res of 1280x1024. it does not accept 720p or 1080i so those res's cannot be used :( the only Res ive seen quoted which is usefull is 1024x768. this is usually native res of 15" TFT and will be accepted by 17" TFT's and above with scaling required to match the displays native Res. anyhow i think you will be fine for the spot of online gaming. im still debating on wether to go for VGA or component for my gaming usage
     
  22. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +30
    From http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=415408

    1920x1080 is one HELLUVA res for a console :D
     
  23. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    thats good news the standard Res's are supported. yep 1080i is a very big res indeed for a console seeing as we are used to 720x480 from xbox.
     
  24. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,651
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +6,301
    I have my monitor currently set to 1024x768 as I find anything above that makes everything look too small but I can set it to 1280x1024, would that be the best setting to use when I hook up the 360?
     
  25. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    yes :thumbsup:
     
  26. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,651
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +6,301
  27. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508
    Cas, Kopite

    This was the point I was try to get across, cheers shaithis. :smashin:
     
  28. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    no probs razor :)
     
  29. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,548
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508

    Cool :smashin:
     
  30. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,798
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,961
    I run my X-Box through my Z3 PJ via component and the picture matches up perfectly. I never have to adjust the picture to fit the viewable area.
     

Share This Page

Loading...