XBOX360 5.1 surround sound - problem in connecting everything

manishjain

Standard Member
Hi Guys i am new to the world of Audio and Video so don't know much about it. I need a solution for my xbox360 experience. I have:

1. Sony Bravia LCD 32" HD Ready
2. XBOX 360 pro version with HDMI port
3. HDMI XBOX 360 Cable (use to connect to Sony TV)
3. Creative Inspire T6200 5.1 speakers (just bought)

How can i connect everything together to have XBOX360 5.1 surround sound gaming experience. Also how to watch DVD (with XBOX360 5.1 surround sound) on my XBOX360.

Please help me out friends.

StevieBuck

The Creative T6200 speakers are designed to give you 5.1 audio from a PC sound card, not a games console like the xbox 360.

In order to get 5.1 audio from the xbox 360 through these speakers you'd need to buy a digital to analogue convertor. This will convert the digital signal from the xbox to an analogue signal that the speakers can work with. Such a device will probably cost as much as what you paid for these speakers in the first place.

You may want to re-consider your purchase of these speaker if 5.1 sound is what you're after.

Not really sure what your question is on playing DVDs. You just put the disk in and press play. If you have a compatible sound system hooked up, it will give you 5.1 audio regardless of whether you're playing a game or watching a DVD.

RottenFox

Distinguished Member
Connect the 360 with hdmi to the tv, and thats about it.
You can't get 5.1 with that Creative kit, it has no decoders, nor any optical inputs for 5.1, and TBH, the sound quality is pretty poor, even from a pc.
Look for something with at least 1 optical input.

Last edited:

manishjain

Standard Member
Thanks for replying guys. So what will you recommend - Should i go for Logitech X540 bcos.
Logitech 550 are way too expensive and its out of my budget.

StevieBuck