1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox to Plasma - Green Screen..?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by midniteman, Apr 14, 2003.

  1. midniteman

    midniteman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    When I connect my xbox to the component input of my Panasonic TH50 plasma with the yellow RCA cable, I do get an image in the RGB mode of the plasma but it is all green!!
    Could somebody please tell me what I'm doing wrong?
    I was told if you have a UK xbox then there is a way to get it to output YUV and progressive scan but they were not sure how. It is apparently a hidden menu somewhere.
    Any ideas?
    Thank you all very much in advance for your time (and patience!!)
     
  2. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    If you're only using one (yellow) RCA cable, you'll need to connect it to the composite input (not component). If your TV only has component input, then you need to buy a high-definition pack (Game sell cheap ones, but they're not great quality). If you can't find one, see if your TV has an S-Video input - S-video leads for the XBox are easy to find, and the quality is pretty good.
     
  3. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    I've seen them, i'm going to need a high def pack so if there not good quality.
    Then which one is & where can i get one?

    Cheers
     
  4. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    I'm only going on what other folks say - I use s-video for my XBox. Apparently, the official Microsoft High Def pack is the best quality, but they're quite tricky to find in the UK as M$ (in their infinite wisdom) decided that UK XBox owns wouldn't want decent image quality and they cut the supply.

    There are online retails who sell them - I'm sure some of the other peeps on this board can help you out. On the other hand, the Gamester high-def pack (the one from Game) is only £25, so it might be worth a try - after all, it should be covered by their no-fuss returns policy. And if it turns out to be reasonable quality, I'll go buy one too :)
     
  5. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    The gamester pack that Game sell [reduced to 15quid at the moment] is as good as the Microsoft pack, I have both.

    Read the FAQ - you will not get progressive scan from a UK PAL console - you will get a normal picture through the cable though. I highly recommend connecting to the panny with the hi-def pack, I use it and even without progressive scan its fantastic quality.

    Ebay usually has a few people selling xbox component/hi-def leads, or you can get them from www.tronixweb.com or www.dvdboxoffice.com

    Regards,
    Neil.
     
  6. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    Cheers for that guys :)
    Neil if you say that the one game sells is as good as the m$ one then at £15 i'll get one of those. i know i can't get "ps" but it's the only way i can connect the xbox to the pj i'm getting.
     
  7. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    One thing to bear in mind with a projector is the length of the cable from the xbox to the pj :) Especially if you celing mount it. The cables that come with the gamester pack are 3 meters.

    Regards,
    Neil.
     
  8. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    That should be enough, would i be better replacing the cables that come with the hidef box with better component cables like ixos?
     
  9. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Try it out see if you are happy with it, for me I didn't notice any difference between the ones that came with the box and the 10 metre jobs I bought.

    Neil.
     
  10. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    Cool i'm all for saving money;)
    Thanks for the help mate:)
     
  11. andymac

    andymac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I saw an official Microsoft HD kit in Dixons, Moorgate branch today - not sure of the price though. I guess more and more of their branches will be getting them.
     
  12. Jason S

    Jason S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought my hi def pack from the states

    cost £25 inc fedex shipping (2 day delivery guaranteed!!)

    I'll find the link and post it.
     
  13. dejongj

    dejongj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use the component cable from Game without any quality problems at all. I route all component (and sVideo) connections to my projector via a switch box and a single cable as mine is about 24ft away from the sources.

    No noticeable degradation of the signal at all.

    cheers,

    Jean-Paul
     
  14. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    Just a little footnote to this thread... I've just picked up a Gamester high-definition pack (i'll try it out tonight), but I wanted to point out that the included component leads are only 1.5 metres in length, not 3 metres.

    It is only £15 at the moment, so even with the tiny leads it's good value. A bit of a bummer tho, cos it'll mean I need to move my XBox.
     
  15. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    I also picked that pack up last night as it was only £15
    ready for when i get my pj :) it's a good job i won't need more than 1.5 meter of cable isn't it Neil;)
     
  16. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well the cables I got with mine are 3 metres! So you two got done ;-) Apologies for the confusion :)
     
  17. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    Confusion, eh Neil?


    I heard you were on commission


    ;)
     
  18. MontyUK

    MontyUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Re: the Hi-Def packs now available in the UK, has anyone found a cheap (and decent ish) optical cable to go with it ? If so, where from ??

    Just picked my US Xbox up today . .. it's for my birthday though, and the wife won't met me play with it yet (2 weeks away) !!

    Cheers,
     

Share This Page

Loading...