1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xbox & plasma?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by baccus, Aug 17, 2004.

  1. baccus

    baccus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This might be a silly question but is there a way of viewing my xbox on my new Panasonic TH37PB30 plasma in a higher quality than with the scart lead that comes with the xbox? I have a PC input on the tv, does this mean i can buy some sort of convertor and watch in higher quality thru this?? I'm new to all this so don't laugh if i'm talking thru my backside!!!
     
  2. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
  3. Brigadeer

    Brigadeer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. baccus

    baccus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I will be after one for the weekend.
     
  5. baccus

    baccus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've looked everywhere and can't find one on the net anywhere?? I'm restricted slightly because the PC i'm using is at work and filters any sites with 'game' in the title. Any ideas where in the UK i can go, that delivers within a day or so??
     
  6. leedavies

    leedavies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +7
  7. ndenbow

    ndenbow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +11
    Please correct me if I am wrong, but isn't the High Definition feature only supported in the NTSC format? You need to modify PAL units to use HD connectivity, with all the good things that go with this such as warranty and XBL issues.
     
  8. kelvin

    kelvin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Down South... (Bournemouth)
    Ratings:
    +45
    As above, High Definition is disabled on PAL xbox's - if you have to have it, you will need to either:-

    a) Obtain an NTSC machine
    or
    b) Go down the modchip/exploit route

    Sorrt to be the bearer of bad news... :(

    K.
     
  9. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Actually - I thought you could use the high def. pack - but you won't get a high def picture - but it should be better than using scart (as it's component).

    Correct ????

    ZedZed
     
  10. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,412
    Well as a long time anti-chipper I relented last week and fitted one of those non solder chips

    My advice to anyone with a plasma and an XBox is to get your box chipped and get the high def kit

    Whats the point of spending £2000+ on a decent TV and not making the best use of it

    The graphical difference is outstanding - fantastic - its like going from 640 res to 1024 on a PC
     
  11. Damnyoureyes

    Damnyoureyes
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The hi def will output 525i/480i i think on it's own for PAL xboxes to get the 480p and above you need to mod either chip it or via a soft mod.

    You can soft mod your XBox via one a game save hack have a look on xbox-scene
    http://www.xbox-scene.com

    www.lik-sang.com

    for the high def pack and a usb lead so you can plug it into your pc and make your memory card an action replay card.

    transfer the saved game with the hack onto your pc go into the game load the hacked saved game file and then run the video changer.

    You can still use live no problemo

    I'm just in the process of doing this all at the moment will get back to you all when I'm done but even just the high def pack makes it look better more detail and colours are better.
     
  12. baccus

    baccus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got my xecuter lite chip in the post this morning and will be fitting tomorrow and will be ordering my hi def pack for the weekend. Will this chip enable me to use the hi def pack or will i have to upgrade the OS for EvolutionX so that the settings can be changed. Starting to get very confused*?!!*
     

Share This Page

Loading...