Xbox One X-Shutting down running 4K games

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by djc45, Nov 18, 2017.


    1. djc45

      djc45
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2006
      Messages:
      144
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Scotland, UK
      Ratings:
      +4
      Hi,
      I collected my Xbox One X last night from the shop and got it all set up. It is recognising my LG 4k tv in settings as compatible and is kicking out 4k HDR, as indicated by the LG tv.

      The problem is, when I run Rise of The Tomb Raider with native 4k settings, the Xbox shuts down at the point where the actual gameplay is about to start. If I lower settings it runs without shutting down. Obviously, I want to run at 4k when I’ve gone to the expense of a display that supports it, and the ONE X.

      The console us sat on an open shelf with nothing anywhere near it that could blocking ventilation or causing overheating.

      Has am\nooner else encountered this? I appreciate any advice anyone might have, as I really want to get my 13 hour old 4k console actually working with 4k games.
      Thanks
      Duncan
       
    2. SteveU30

      SteveU30
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2, 2008
      Messages:
      5,551
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,989
      Have you checked the 4K compatibility in the Xbox settings? Think it’s under an option called 4K details. You should have all green ticks
       
    3. rustybin

      rustybin
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Dec 13, 2006
      Messages:
      9,094
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +5,419
      That happened to me the first time I ran Tomb Raider... Did a hard reset of the console and it worked fine after that.
       
    4. djc45

      djc45
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2006
      Messages:
      144
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Scotland, UK
      Ratings:
      +4
      Yes Steve, it’s showing all green ticks in that settings page.
       
    5. SteveU30

      SteveU30
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2, 2008
      Messages:
      5,551
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,989
      Try the hard reset next then
       
    6. djc45

      djc45
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2006
      Messages:
      144
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Scotland, UK
      Ratings:
      +4
      Rusty, what steps did you do for the reset that worked for you?
       
    7. SteveU30

      SteveU30
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2, 2008
      Messages:
      5,551
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,989
      Just turn it on, hold down the power for 10 secs until it shuts off fully then turn it back on.
       
    8. djc45

      djc45
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2006
      Messages:
      144
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Scotland, UK
      Ratings:
      +4
      I just tried that, is still shutting down when tomb raider launches gameplay in 4k.
       
    9. SteveU30

      SteveU30
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2, 2008
      Messages:
      5,551
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,989
      Is it disc or digital version?

      Have you tried any other games?

      Might have to delete and reinstall...
       
    10. djc45

      djc45
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2006
      Messages:
      144
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Scotland, UK
      Ratings:
      +4
      Is digital version. Don’t think I’ve got any other 4k enhanced Xbox one games to try.
      I’ll try a re download and install.
       
    11. SteveU30

      SteveU30
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2, 2008
      Messages:
      5,551
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,989
      Download the Forza 7 demo, it’s only 20gb
       
    12. djc45

      djc45
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2006
      Messages:
      144
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Scotland, UK
      Ratings:
      +4
      Good idea, thanks.
       
    13. SteveU30

      SteveU30
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2, 2008
      Messages:
      5,551
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,989
      Also what version is your Xbox on firmware wise as there was an update about 24hrs ago. It’s possible you may be on the new firmware and have found a bug that no one else has yet!
       
    14. djc45

      djc45
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2006
      Messages:
      144
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Scotland, UK
      Ratings:
      +4
      I’m on 10.0.16299.4307

      Am downloading Forza 7 demo atm, and will give it a try to see if it does the same it not.
       
    15. SteveU30

      SteveU30
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2, 2008
      Messages:
      5,551
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,989
      Just tried ROTTR on mine in both native and enriched modes on the new firmware and it ran fine.

      I, like most actually prefer enriched mode but obviously that’s not the point.

      Let us know how you get on.
       
    16. djc45

      djc45
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2006
      Messages:
      144
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Scotland, UK
      Ratings:
      +4
      Forza runs beautifully, so it looks like it might be a ROTTR issue, rather than an issue with the Xbox itself.
      I’ll try deleting and reinstalling.
       
    17. SteveU30

      SteveU30
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2, 2008
      Messages:
      5,551
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,989
      Yeah I’m going for a corrupt installation. Someone posted the other day in the main One X thread that their digital version with all DLC was 20GB less than others had it (whether digital or disc).

      If you haven’t yet deleted it, how much space is it taking up?
       
    18. djc45

      djc45
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2006
      Messages:
      144
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Scotland, UK
      Ratings:
      +4
      Game itself - 30.5gb
      20 yr celebration pack.-1.7gb
      Baba Yaga- 1.1gb
      Cold darkness - 639.3mb
      Other bits of dlc, like endurance mode etc, 10mb each
       
    19. SteveU30

      SteveU30
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2, 2008
      Messages:
      5,551
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,989
      Think my disc based installation is at 51GB if memory serves so it’s almost as if yours is missing certain 4K files?
       
    20. djc45

      djc45
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2006
      Messages:
      144
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Scotland, UK
      Ratings:
      +4
      That would make sense, I’ll do the delete and reinstall, hopefully that’ll sort it.
       
    21. djc45

      djc45
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2006
      Messages:
      144
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Scotland, UK
      Ratings:
      +4
      Ok, so I tried the reinstall and still getting the same issue with 4k native, so have changed to enriched which works fine and is really good visually.

      I’m putting it down to some issue with ROTTR rather than the console, or Forza wouldn’t work. I guess I’ll just stick with enriched visual settings for now, which are pretty decent tbh, I don’t think there’s much else I can do for now.

      Is there a specific Microsoft forum for posting such issues, to feed the issue back to them?

      Thanks for all your help.
      Duncan
       
    22. rustybin

      rustybin
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Dec 13, 2006
      Messages:
      9,094
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +5,419
      Missed this... Sorry. I just pressed button for 10 seconds.
       
    23. SteveU30

      SteveU30
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2, 2008
      Messages:
      5,551
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,989
      This is how big my installation is (disc based with no DLC).

      IMG_3240.JPG
       
    24. djc45

      djc45
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 14, 2006
      Messages:
      144
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Scotland, UK
      Ratings:
      +4
      [​IMG] Steve, my redownloaded game is still showing at just above 30gb with no dlc, which is a big difference, and could well have something to do with it.
       
    25. peahead

      peahead
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Dec 14, 2002
      Messages:
      3,013
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      106
      Location:
      St.helens
      Ratings:
      +389
      That is the correct download size for the digital copy of rise of the tomb raider you dont need to worry.

      I think the digital version uses some kind of new digital compression to get the size down on the xbox one x.
       
    26. SteveU30

      SteveU30
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2, 2008
      Messages:
      5,551
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,989
      If it is correct then he has every reason to worry as his Xbox won’t run it!

      Ideally now we need someone else with the digital version at 30GB to test 4K native to see what happens...
       
    27. peahead

      peahead
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Dec 14, 2002
      Messages:
      3,013
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      106
      Location:
      St.helens
      Ratings:
      +389
      I bought the digital version yesterday and it runs fine in native 4k on my X.that how i knows it the correct size of download.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • List
    28. Samv0808

      Samv0808
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Dec 30, 2015
      Messages:
      1,594
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +1,458
      My digital download runs fine too at 4k. Played about 30 minutes.
       
    29. SteveU30

      SteveU30
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 2, 2008
      Messages:
      5,551
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,989
      That pretty much confirms it’s a faulty Xbox then!
       
    30. gunner84

      gunner84
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Aug 16, 2005
      Messages:
      3,870
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +854
      Not played TR yet but I downloaded it yesterday as well and can confirm it’s around 34gb with all the extra dlc you get with 20th anniversary edition.
      If I get time I will check native 4k tomorrow.

      Edit* just tried it in native 4k, was fine, not sure where your issues start but I was walking along the mountain snow top at very beginning with no problem.
       
      Last edited: Nov 18, 2017

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice