Answered Xbox One X 4K problems with TV & AV receiver.

Discussion in 'Xbox One' started by Secondhand, Nov 8, 2017.


    1. Secondhand

      Secondhand
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Sep 26, 2017
      Messages:
      21
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Kettering
      Ratings:
      +1
      IMG_1510179546.805229.jpg

      Hi. So I’m going through the settings of my new Xbox One X and look at picture settings. It says my TV doesn’t support HDR10 & 4K 10-bit at 60Hz. I know my tv does.

      However to the left it has a warning sign that if connect via a AV receiver, it may effect the results.

      I know my AV receiver supports HDR10 pass through and native 4K picture.

      My tv is the LG OLED C6.
      My Av Receiver is a Yamaha RX-V581

      Anyone know what I should do. Any settings I need to change on the receiver. The Xbox is connected to HDMI 1 input.
       
    2. Best Answer:
      Post #19 by Setitie, Nov 11, 2017 (1 points)
    3. regurgitator

      regurgitator
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jan 2, 2009
      Messages:
      28
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      3
      Ratings:
      +5
      If you connect it to your tv without using the receiver do all the boxes come up with a green tick ? Also on some tv's you have to choose a specific hdmi port for the 4k uhd to work. On some tv's you have to turn on the 4k for the hdmi ports too.
       
    4. Jonah66

      Jonah66
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Oct 16, 2017
      Messages:
      24
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      6
      Location:
      Weston super mare
      Ratings:
      +8
      I think you need to turn HDMI deep colour on on the LG
       
    5. Secondhand

      Secondhand
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Sep 26, 2017
      Messages:
      21
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Kettering
      Ratings:
      +1
      Hmm. How do you do this??
       
    6. Secondhand

      Secondhand
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Sep 26, 2017
      Messages:
      21
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Kettering
      Ratings:
      +1
      I need to try this tomorrow.
       
    7. Jonah66

      Jonah66
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Oct 16, 2017
      Messages:
      24
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      6
      Location:
      Weston super mare
      Ratings:
      +8
    8. JimboH

      JimboH
      Active Member

      Joined:
      May 29, 2012
      Messages:
      463
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      Aberdeen
      Ratings:
      +247
      I think there is also a setting on the yamaha rx-v581 you need to make sure is correct, it's been a while since I set mine up but I'm sure I remember something.
       
    9. Secondhand

      Secondhand
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Sep 26, 2017
      Messages:
      21
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Kettering
      Ratings:
      +1
      Could you let me know if you remember please :)
       
    10. JimboH

      JimboH
      Active Member

      Joined:
      May 29, 2012
      Messages:
      463
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      Aberdeen
      Ratings:
      +247
    11. JimboH

      JimboH
      Active Member

      Joined:
      May 29, 2012
      Messages:
      463
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      Aberdeen
      Ratings:
      +247
    12. Secondhand

      Secondhand
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Sep 26, 2017
      Messages:
      21
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Kettering
      Ratings:
      +1
    13. steb9780

      steb9780
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Oct 6, 2005
      Messages:
      773
      Products Owned:
      5
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      Preston
      Ratings:
      +169
      Yep had the same thing to do with my 481, why Yamaha didn't have this on from the factory beats me.
       
    14. Setitie

      Setitie
      Member

      Joined:
      Nov 11, 2017
      Messages:
      7
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Edmonton
      Ratings:
      +0
      It was a cable issue, now fixed. Sorry for the bother. :)
       
    15. Setitie

      Setitie
      Member

      Joined:
      Nov 11, 2017
      Messages:
      7
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Edmonton
      Ratings:
      +0
      One thing of note (probably super important) is that I can't get either my PS4 PRO or XB1X to work on MODE 1 only 2. My HDMI cable is a Ultra Slim 18Gbps Active High Speed HDMI Cable from Monoprice. I guess that's my problem it has to be, as JimboH said, on MODE 1 but when it is no picture.
       
      Last edited: Nov 11, 2017
    16. Setitie

      Setitie
      Member

      Joined:
      Nov 11, 2017
      Messages:
      7
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Edmonton
      Ratings:
      +0
      I just got my Xbox One X today and hooked it up to my Yamaha RX-V581 receiver. I'm having the same issues as Secondhand. I followed JimboH's instructions on 4K HER mode and yet for me I'm still having issues as did SH. If I plug my XB1X directly into the TV it works. Looking forward to whatever help you may suggest. Thank you
       
    17. Secondhand

      Secondhand
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Sep 26, 2017
      Messages:
      21
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Kettering
      Ratings:
      +1
      Have you updated your Yamaha firmware receiver? Same method like the Mode 1 & 2 but keep scrolling along til it says update.
       
    18. Setitie

      Setitie
      Member

      Joined:
      Nov 11, 2017
      Messages:
      7
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Edmonton
      Ratings:
      +0
      I haven't but will do that just to be up to date. Good advice, thank you
       
    19. Dan201

      Dan201
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2010
      Messages:
      3,954
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +572
      I had to connect my Xbox to my TV directly and use ARC. Marantz 7011.
       
    20. Setitie

      Setitie
      Member

      Joined:
      Nov 11, 2017
      Messages:
      7
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Edmonton
      Ratings:
      +0
      Best Answer
      A temp fix to the Flickering seems to be switching inputs and or turn off & than on
       
    21. Setitie

      Setitie
      Member

      Joined:
      Nov 11, 2017
      Messages:
      7
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Edmonton
      Ratings:
      +0
      Further to the black it happens on all connected devices (PVR for example)
       
    22. Setitie

      Setitie
      Member

      Joined:
      Nov 11, 2017
      Messages:
      7
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Edmonton
      Ratings:
      +0
      It's working with the HDR but now it does this thing where the screen goes black then comes back then so on. Any thoughts on that? As SH suggested I did run the update on the receiver
       
    23. pavloPL

      pavloPL
      Member

      Joined:
      May 27, 2013
      Messages:
      58
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      8
      Location:
      Romford
      Ratings:
      +16
      Well my Xbox One X does not work perfectly with my receiver as well. I have an Anthem 1120 and when Xbox connected to the receiver it sends 8 bits only instead of 10 or 12, but when passthrough it sends 12 bits, annoying. And Atmos does not work as well... super anoying.
       
    24. next010

      next010
      Member

      Joined:
      May 29, 2005
      Messages:
      10,344
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      163
      Ratings:
      +2,010
      Make sure the firmware of the receiver is up to date they released a software upgrade on their download page last august and in the change log it mentions improved HDR support.

      If you have already done this and are still not getting anything than it's a HDMI handshaking issue (which may also explain Atmos not working) that can only be resolved by either Microsoft or Anthem. Getting Anthem to fix the issue on their side would be faster than trying to get Microsoft's attention on it so I'd contact Anthem first.

      As far as I know Xbox doesn't gain anything from 12-bit it's just there as future proofing, the GUI and all games/movies are in 8-bit, the only time 10-bit gets invoked is when HDR is in use, I could very well be wrong but that what I've read over the years.
       
    25. Secondhand

      Secondhand
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Sep 26, 2017
      Messages:
      21
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Kettering
      Ratings:
      +1
      Another option I was thinking when I was struggling was direct HDMI from Xbox to TV for picture and then optical cable for audio from Xbox to AV Receiver.
       
    26. Nepheler

      Nepheler
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 2, 2014
      Messages:
      71
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      LA
      Ratings:
      +4
      I have the Xbox One S which can support the 4K videos, I don't want to use the Xbox One X. Playing 4K videos on Xbox One X is not a easy thing.
       
    27. pavloPL

      pavloPL
      Member

      Joined:
      May 27, 2013
      Messages:
      58
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      8
      Location:
      Romford
      Ratings:
      +16
      Thanks next010, I did contact them both for now see if got their attention and if my case is a single of more common. Regards firmware yes it is running with this latest one. 10bit I need for HDR which makes more sense for X model.
       
    28. pavloPL

      pavloPL
      Member

      Joined:
      May 27, 2013
      Messages:
      58
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      8
      Location:
      Romford
      Ratings:
      +16
      Yeap that is what I am doing now but I am limited to Dolby Digital 5.1 over optic cable, far away from ideal Atmos sound which sends only over HDMI.
       
    29. cjmilner

      cjmilner
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Aug 19, 2007
      Messages:
      148
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      York
      Ratings:
      +22
      I'm also having issues with my Xbox One X running through my receiver and not getting full 4k and HDR. I have a Pioneer SC-LX59, and an LG B7 OLED tv. I've got the deep colour settings all done and I know the TV accepts HDR through from the receiver as my Ultra 4k player works fine through it, but just can't get the new Xbox to work properly through it. I'm using the cable that came with the Xbox, and have tried multiple HDMI inputs on the receiver but to no avail. I've updated to newest firmware too. Any ideas??
       
    30. Secondhand

      Secondhand
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Sep 26, 2017
      Messages:
      21
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Kettering
      Ratings:
      +1
      Are all the HDMI 4K capability?
       
    31. cjmilner

      cjmilner
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Aug 19, 2007
      Messages:
      148
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      York
      Ratings:
      +22
      I'm not entirely sure, but using the BD HDMI port that my 4k player works with still doesn't fix the problem.
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice