1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XBOX modchip

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by H4r7y, Sep 29, 2004.

  1. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    anyone got a few ideas for me where to get a mod chip for an xbox.
    i need one for my brothers xbox.
    (which he got from game in nottingham, and it has a samsung dvd drive if anyones interested)
    ive bought one before from a site but cant remember the name of it for the life of me.

    one of the guys who runs the site visits this forum anyway, i got a very impressive service and would like to go back there again.

    any names would be great.

    cheers

    h4r7y
     
  2. UncagedTyphoon

    UncagedTyphoon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    City Street having it Large Essex
    Ratings:
    +3
    the only ones I know of is at the following site they are based around Darlington

    http://www.goldberg-mods.co.uk/xboxdownloads.html

    you will need to contact them for a price I have used them myself and referred to friends and they provide a very good service no complaints here or from anyone i have referred to them

    then again if you want it closer to home I have seen this done at computer fairs
     
  3. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for that mate, but its not the one im looking for unfortunately.
    how did you get on with your graphics problems?
     
  4. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    Have you tried WhiteDog

    There is another site that i know that suppile mods but at the moment i can't remember the name of it :blush:
     
  5. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    sites down buddy, its not the one im looking for by the way, if it comes back up ill give it a go.

    anyone with any others?
    :)
     
  6. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
  7. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
  8. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks again guys but its not the site im looking for, although the layout of premodded is similar but the site im looking for is mainly white, with similar styling.

    im looking for a solderless mod too, ive got a 2.3 lite installed in my xbox but cant find another one on sale anywhere, have they been discontinued?
    id prefer to get an all in one board rather than get an adapter. would the xbit chip be worthy?
     
  9. runningback

    runningback
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
  10. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
  11. kelvin

    kelvin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Down South... (Bournemouth)
    Ratings:
    +45
    Unfortunately yes - although you may find the odd retailer who still has them in stock - Baldbouncer are still advertising them...

    You could always consider one of the Xapter adaptors which will enable you to install most Xecuter chips without soldering - makes installation pretty much as easy as with the 2.3b Lite Plus :)

    Details here.

    K.
     
  12. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    doesnt that xapter need to be soldered though?
    theres a loose wire in the pic?
     
  13. hooj

    hooj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
  14. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks hooj, did it come pre flashed with cromwell?
    that spare wire just sits in the d0 hole? no risk of shorting out or anything?
    itll probably have to be the 2.6 lite as it says on BB's site that theyre not available.
     
  15. hooj

    hooj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think all Team Xecuter chips come pre flashed with a Cromwell bios.
    I just created a bios disc using the instructions on the Team Xecuter website and everything worked perfectly.

    The D0 wire on the Xadapter just wedges in the D0 pin. It seems very firmly stuck so there is very little chance of it becoming loose.
     
  16. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    great stuff, was a little worried about losse wires!
    i think ive still got all the discs i used to setup my other xbox so it shouldnt be a problem to do this one with them.

    cheers mate
     
  17. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    Does the xapter work with a 1.6 xbox - the site only says up to 1.5 but just wondered if that hadn't been updated?
     
  18. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive read that it works with verson 1.-1.6
    ill try to find it for you
     
  19. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    heres the link form the first page by hooj

    http://www.baldbouncer.co.uk/catalo...6becdba4f8acb8c

    Features
    Works on XBOX board versions 1.0 to 1.6
    NEW plug-in external switch module
    Includes LED to display mod Enable/Disable - LED for Bios select Bank 1 or Bank 2 - LED Flash protection Enable/Disable.
    Mod Disable Switch For 1.6 Xbox Board Versions
    NEW Cromwell Supporting 1.6 Xbox Board Versions & Hard Drive Lock/Unlock
    Designed to fit under the front lip of the case
    Two Blue LED's on mod chip
    No need to remove or open the Xbox when flashing.
    1MB or 2 x 512K BIOS chip capacity.
    Works on all regions (JAP/USA/PAL)
    Works with Xbox live when using the mod chip Disable switch
    Works with XBconnect
    Comes with Pin Headers - 7 Wires to solder adaptor (giving you a choice of install option) - External switch module - External switch module wire plug-in connection.
     
  20. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    That's the chip not the solderless adapter - lower on the linked page:

    Xapter

    Features
    Simple Single Screw Fitting Solution
    Fits all the Xecuter 2.x Lite & X2.x Pro devices
    Fits All Xbox Board Models From v1.0 Thru To v1.5
     
  21. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh aye, sorry.
    just read on other forums that its not going to work on a 1.6 board without rebuilding the lpc on the bottom of the motherboard.
    maybe that'll turn something up for you if you looked into it.
     
  22. timmers

    timmers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Salisbury Plain
    Ratings:
    +119
    Have a look at modconsole.co.uk. Had my box chipped there. Great Job!

    Timmers
     
  23. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers timmers, looks like theyve got the 2.3b lite + in too!

    :)
     
  24. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    a note - you cannot chip a v 1.6 xbox without soldering.
    The LPC is effectively redundant in this version so may we worth going into a second hand store and getting one (if anyone reading this still doesnt have the best console available!!!!) :p :)
    Chris
     
  25. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I've ordered about 8 xboxes from Amazon recently and they are all 1.4's built in 2003. Must have stocks of them. Not had a 1.6 yet, thank god.

    The 2.6 is a good chip and has a nice switch bank. You have the option of a couple easy wire solders for HDD and LAN activity LEDs. These wires solder to quite large points so it's not fiddly at all.

    Note that the LED on/off switch on the 2.6 switchboard is often reversed so when it says on, the LEDs will be off.
     

Share This Page

Loading...