Xbox modchip/harddisk update question

gunrock

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm very tempted to chip my Xbox (primarily to get a US copy of Prince of Persia, but also for XBox Media Player goodness) and I figured I could upgrade the drive at the same time. I have a 40gb IBM/Hitachi going spare and would like to use that.

Provided that works okay, how can I get my save games from the original hard disk onto the new one?

Gunrock

Chip your box, FTP the files off the original HDD onto your PC (you'll need to link the two via a twisted pair Ethernet cable, or alternatively a router), install your new HDD, FTP them back again.

Its a bit more complicated than that, but check out xbox-scene's FAQ and mods forums for more info.

I'm far from an expert regarding xbox matters but I'd suggest fitting a 120gb Maxtor given their low cost these days (< £70).

About to do this myself but I reckon with a chipped box, all that space will be needed :eek:

remember that if you want to use live, you HAVE to have a hdd that can be "locked".

To get on !live, you have to disable the mod-chip, and the xbox wont bont without a locked hdd with the mod-chip disabled.

If you're not woried about !live, then you can use any hdd you want:)

I Argee with everything said above. The maxtor - great choice, almost all models of the maxtor drives lock. Also agree with checking xbox-scene.com - that place is packed with info.

no lol. that takes way too much time. the first thing you do when getting the modchip up and running is backup the entire x-box hdd via FTP. All you have to do is put the drive in and format it (tuts. on xbox-scene) and then use that backup to make an exact copy on the bigger drive. easy:)

FTP is far faster and you'll find yourself using it more and more when you get your box chipped.