1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xbox mod question????

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by red2004devil, Oct 14, 2004.

  1. red2004devil

    red2004devil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi. I brought a modded xbox about 8 months ago and ive been trying to put burnout 3 and toca driver 2 on the hard drive.

    Toca driver 2 says that a file can not be transfered and
    Burnout 3 goes on to the hard drive but doesnt play.

    People ive been talking to says i have to update the software in box its using boxplorer inside avalauch????

    Can any1 help me please where to get update or or was to do it? :lease:
     
  2. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    i tried to put toca 2 on my hard drive and its got a file name that is more then 128 characters long so it cant copy it (or a number around 128)
    and you'll probably need to get hold of a hard drive patch for burnout 3 although ive never put it onto my hard drive so i dont know for sure.
     
  3. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    it could be that your bios is too old, have you had any other games that done work?

    Try updating to X2 4981/4983 bios.

    Burnout 3 should run fine without patches. Probably something like the bios in that case.
     
  4. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +4,812
    Just put burnout3 on my new chipped x-box without any problems.Chip is xecuter3,120g HD.
     
  5. red2004devil

    red2004devil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Where do i get that update from and what do i do after i get it downloaded????
     
  6. kelvin

    kelvin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Down South... (Bournemouth)
    Ratings:
    +45
    If you need to find files, check out the tutorial here.

    Pretty much everything else you need to know is on xbox-scene come to think of it too :)

    K.
     
  7. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    Kelvin or anyone else who's online, is it worth getting the latest Xecuter chip if all I want to do is change harddrive and fill it with Mp3's and the odd game for faster loading? The old ones are much cheaper are they not?

    Cheers, Mylo
     
  8. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,508
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,727
    I don't think it is personally. I just went for the Xecuter 2.6 which does everything I need. An extra £15 for the Xecuter 3 wasn't really worth it for me.
     
  9. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    that's the answer I wanted to hear, cheers buddy.
     
  10. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,508
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,727
    No probs Mylo - infact the chipper who did mine actually said that although the Xecuter 3 is a good chip, he didn't see it selling that well as most people aren't really bothered about the extra features on it and the extra cost is therefore not warranted.
     
  11. kelvin

    kelvin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Down South... (Bournemouth)
    Ratings:
    +45
    A bit late as it seems like you have the answer you were after, but just for reference I totally agree with gthom3...

    The new chips are fine if you want the accompanying bells and whistles, but for your average user, the new "benefits" are limited - you can accomplish pretty much all you're likely to need to with a series 2 chip :)

    All the best,

    K.
     
  12. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    the built in boost mode ftp server is a great function but thats just about the only function i would ever want out of the x3 chip....
    Agree with what is said above - spend 50% as much and do very nearly the same.
     
  13. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    Thanks again guys, any suggestions for the cheapest source? The xbox is already stripped and all I need is the hardware. For some reason I was nervous about taking it to bits, even though I've chipped a Playstation before, but a new friend explained how easy it was and he was right.
     
  14. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    yup its very easy to take it apart - i find divineo.co.uk to be a great company - shipping is super fast. Other than that kanection.co.uk is pretty good.
    Enjoy :)
     
  15. kelvin

    kelvin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Down South... (Bournemouth)
    Ratings:
    +45
    I've always used baldbouncer in the past and have been very pleased with the overall service. They only accept payment by Fastpay, Nochex, or RM "Postal Payments" which seems to put some people off but rest assured there are plenty of happy customers.

    Certainly get my vote :)

    K.
     

Share This Page

Loading...