Xbox Live Wiring Setup Question

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Rhys89, Sep 1, 2007.

  1. Rhys89

    Rhys89
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi, ive had my 360 for aobut a year and I am now hopiong to set up Live. But im a bit cocerned as i think that the Network cable form the pc to the 360 goes in the LAN Cable slot than im already using for my LAN to my computer in a different room.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    Not really sure exactly what you're asking. Can you explain it a bit more clearly ?

    You might want to mention exactly how things are connected and where and what kind of hardware you're using for your broadband as well as whether it is cable or ADSL.
     
  3. Rhys89

    Rhys89
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
  4. weaponx_uk2003

    weaponx_uk2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +98
    what u need is a router if you dont have one dsl if Virgin or ADSL for BT etc broadband.

    then you connect PC and 360 to the router
     
  5. Rhys89

    Rhys89
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    would a router work better than this other Switch thing?
     
  6. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    A router and a switch are two different types of device. A router does what a switch does and more. You may not need it and it may be overkill. However I can't advise you because like I said I have no idea what your setup is like and what you're trying to achieve.
     
  7. Rhys89

    Rhys89
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    well right now ive got a pc donwstairs which has Wanadoo/Organge broadband, non wireless. I also have a PC in my bedroom upstairs which is linked via Network cable to share the internet connection. I also have a 360 in my living room donwstairs, and i want to send Xbox live to my 360 from the downstairs PC. But my Ethernet port is being used for my LAN sending the internet upstairs, and i dont want to have to keep pulling one cable out and using the other whenever i want to use Xbox live.

    Thus is need another Ethernet port, and was wondering if this Switch would do the job, or whether a router would be better.

    Any help vry much appreciated
     
  8. bubs999

    bubs999
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +634
    I take it the Orange modem is connected via USB to the downstairs PC? and then the LAN port on the PC is connecting both computers (upstairs and downstairs), using Internet connection sharing on Windows?

    I would just buy a router and put it next to the modem, then connect downstairs PC and Xbox to it, then use another ethernet cable to go upstairs (unless you go wireless with that one)
     
  9. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    OK now we are getting somewhere. A switch would work but I think you would be better off with a router. Then connect both PC's and the 360 to the router's ethernet ports. If you want to go wireless instead then you could get a wireless router and a wireless adapter for the PC upstairs and/or the 360. With a switch only one of those devices can use the internet at a time. With a router you can have any combination of them using the internet at the same time.
     
  10. Rhys89

    Rhys89
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks thats exactly what i needed to know,

    could anyone reccoemnd a suitable router? the cheaper the better.

    One question, am i right in thinking that the router goes in the Ethernet port?
     
  11. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +443
    the router doesn't physically go in the Ethernet port but it does connect to yeah.
     
  12. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    I believe Wannadoo/Orange is an ADSL service. If that is the case then you would just replace the existing modem with an ADSL router with built in modem. The phone line would go in the phone connection in the router and then ethernet cables from the router to the two PC's and Xbox assuming you're going wired.

    I am not familiar with Wannadoo/Orange but I suspect you can use any router with their service. You might want to check on that first. The Netgear DG834G is a good model and it is wireless as well as wired. Even if you don't use wireless now it will give you the option if you choose to use it later on. A lot of people use Belkin and D-Link routers but I'm not familiar with any specific models.
     
  13. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +443
    if you don't actually want to buy a router and don't mind leaving the living room pc on while you play the 360 all you need is an Ethernet card which would cost you <£10. Then all you do is bridge the connection between the two lan ports. Would work out a lot cheaper, but it depends on if you mind having the pc on when you want to use the 360.
     
  14. Rhys89

    Rhys89
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    my donwstairs PC is on 19 hours a day anyway. But with that option would i have to open up the back of the pc and put it in? I would fear doing that tbh
     
  15. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +443
    you would but its simply unscrew the 2 screws holding the case on, insert the card into a spare PCI slot, screw the card in with one screw. Replace case and rescrew. Then your sorted, nothing to configure, nothing to install just plug and play. Can't really go wrong and if you leave your pc on all the time anyway it would be a cheaper option and less hassle as you wouldn't have to configure your router for certain pc apps.
     
  16. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    A router is a far better option then installing a secondary ethernet card in the PC. It's all round much more convenient, easy to configure and manage and doesn't require the PC to be on. I really wouldn't bother with the ethernet card option.
     
  17. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +443
  18. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    Sorry but I disagree. It may be cheaper but it's not as simple as using a router. A router basically manages all your devices that connect to the internet. Installing a network card and then configuring ICS or bridging is far more trouble then it's worth especially for someone not very familiar with networking. It's not worth the hassle. You can pick up a wireless router for as little as £40-50.
     
  19. Rhys89

    Rhys89
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    thats the thing, i only want this formXbox live, and the fees with the subscription, 10m cable and evrrything i probibly wouldnt bother if i had to spend that much on a router.
     
  20. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +443
    I bridge my two lan ports all the time when my mate comes over with his 360. All you do is select both of them and right click and go bridge connections. Theirs no need to configure anything at all. Just don't bridge the internet and the network together as your create an unprotected link.

    Also if he buys a wireless router then he'll need an xbox360 wireless card, one for his pc and one for his other pc upstairs. If you'd rather a router though a wired one would be much cheaper as you already have everything you need and you can get ones with built in wireless if you decide you want it in the future.

    It's your choice though if your not bothered about &#163;&#163;&#163; then go for a router as it will save needing the pc on to use the 360 or upstairs pc.
     
  21. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    Then just get a switch.
     
  22. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +443
    or just physically remove the Ethernet cable from the port and swap it with the 360 one when you use that. That way you don't have to spend a penny :D
     
  23. Rhys89

    Rhys89
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    but then i wont be able to have the Internet upstairs AND the Xbox live...
     
  24. Rhys89

    Rhys89
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    just quickly, Bridging connections?
     
  25. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    That is why I suggested a router.
     
  26. Rhys89

    Rhys89
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think im going to go with the Ethernet Card option, ive just got 2 final questions. Do most Pcs come with more than 1 PCT slot for the card? & what is connection bridging?

    all your help is really appreciated, i love this forum
     

Share This Page

Loading...