XBOX LIVE Question

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by OrigamiNinja, Sep 3, 2007.

  1. OrigamiNinja

    OrigamiNinja
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +52
    I am in the process of setting up a Live account but I am shocked at the price of the official wireless bridge.

    I have a wireless network set up at home and wondered if there is a cheaper way of setting up Live without having to shell out £60 for the wireless bridge?

    Any help would be very much appreciated.
     
  2. zmoosa1

    zmoosa1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    888
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Loonsville
    Ratings:
    +58
  3. Farrmark

    Farrmark
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +15
    Cheapest way is to use the supplied Ethernet cable. I don't think there's any other Wireless Adaptor/Bridge that'll work.

    Microsoft accessories are extortionately priced IMO.
     
  4. zmoosa1

    zmoosa1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    888
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Loonsville
    Ratings:
    +58
    There is a cheap 3rd party product available but is very unreliable. Don't be tempted....my mate had one and it cut out evry 5 minutes.
     
  5. OrigamiNinja

    OrigamiNinja
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +52
    Thanks for the quick responses

    I use a Belkin wireless USB network adaptor for my PC to connect to the internet which was reasonably priced, am I correct in thinking that I cant just buy another one of these, hook it up to my 360 and connect to Live using such?
     
  6. C225

    C225
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    6,290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Linlithgow
    Ratings:
    +785
    Only the official USb one will work.

    I use a wireless ethernet bridge which is cheaper than the microsoft USB one and works just as good.
     
  7. OrigamiNinja

    OrigamiNinja
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +52

    Thanks for your response

    Can you provide me with the details?
     
  8. C225

    C225
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    6,290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Linlithgow
    Ratings:
    +785
    Here is a link for a newer version of the one i use.

    http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/61885

    You just link it up to your network on a computer then connect it using an ethernet cable to the xbox.
     
  9. MonkeyKnuckle

    MonkeyKnuckle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +718
    I bought a second console recently and was forced to buy the wireless adapter because I had no other way to connect it. Wasn't happy with paying £60 but I had no other choice.

    Only thing now is I was playing some COD4 online and it kept saying connection interrupted. Does anyone know why? Or if a TV can cause interference with it? The 360 is right below the TV (42" Plasma) and obviously the wireless adapter is at the back, attached to the HD-DVD drive.
     
  10. MrHiggy

    MrHiggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Sludge
    Ratings:
    +9
    I think it's unlikely to be the TV causing the interupt.

    I have a digi-sender hooked up to my Sky receiver (sends Sky wirelessly around the house) and that interups the signal of the wireless adaptor, even though i've tried different frequencies, so I have to unplug it (hardly use it nowadays so not too fussed).

    The point being that it could well be another wireless device causing your issues.

    If you have other things running, try disconnecting them until you find the route (no pun) of the issue.

    To the OP, it may be £60 and, i agree, vastly overpriced for what it is but it does the job very well. I've had it since launch and had no other option. You soon get over the price considering the result.
     
  11. UnGreat

    UnGreat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Somewhere between here and there.
    Ratings:
    +27
    You can get it (the official adapter) a little cheaper if you look around.

    Play-Asia around £45 with postage but customs might tag you. Ebay is also an option if you find a good seller.

    It's expensive but it's a great little thing, i've never had any problems.
     
  12. dannius

    dannius
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +356
    PC World do it for £49.99 if you reserve online and collect in store, that's where I got mine.
     
  13. Batch

    Batch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    University: Lancaster, Home: Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +200
    I'm using a Netgear Wireless Gaming Adapter (Wireless Bridge) and it works liek a charm. Cost me about £30 off ebay a few years ago. Think its a WGE111
     

Share This Page

Loading...