1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox Live over wireless router / game adaptor

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Mr_Belowski, Feb 2, 2004.

  1. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    Hey kids :)

    Dunno if this will be useful to any of you, but I thought I'd share my experiences of running Xbox Live from a wireless router connected through a wireless game adaptor. Some of this is techy stuff, so might not be that interesting unless you're thinking of connecting your Xbox to Live wirelessly.

    I've got a Linksys WRT54G router, and a Linksys WGA54G wireless game adaptor (which is basically the same as a single-client wireless ethernet bridge). I've had the router for a while (never bothered to upgrade the firmware), and chose the Linksys gaming adaptor cos it was cheaper than their equivalent wireless bridge (the WET54G, which has a pretty dreadful reputation by the way), and I figured that sticking with the same manufacturer might help things go smoothly.

    OK, so how good is it?

    Well, it seems to work very nicely. Now it's configured (more on the configuration below) it works great. The only critisim I have is the range. My laptop's built in wireless card seems to get a stronger signal than the WGA54G when it's in the same place. It works, but if your Xbox is at the limit of you wireless network's range then you might see some issues. My WGA54G is in the room above my Xbox with a CAT5 cable running through a hole in the floor. My router is in the atic, my WGA54G is in the living room, and my xbox is in the cellar, all at the front of the house. Set up like this it's been very reliable.


    Configuration...

    Configuring the little device is simple. First, you MUST plug it directly into your PCs network card. If you plug it into a LAN port on a wireless router it goes nuts cos it's making a circular bridge from the wireless network to the LAN, back to the wireless network and on to the LAN etc etc.

    On my configuration, I've disabled the device's MAC address cloning, and set it to have a static IP address in the same range as the rest of the stuff on my LAN. My router sees it as a separate device on my network. My Xbox has its own IP address (in the same range as the LAN and WGA54G), and the Xbox's DNS is set to my ISP's DNS. This is pretty much the default configuration (except for the MAC address cloning bit - my router doesn't need the WGA54G to be transparent, so there's no point in making it transparent).

    I've also got 128bit WEP encryption enabled, so I put the key into the device and it happily joined my network. Note that the WGA54G does NOT support the newer WPA wireless encryption technology.

    So far so good. Now on to my tweaking experiences.

    I initially had it set up with no port-forwarding or other firewall changes. It seemed to work OK, but I had trouble joining games. On PGR2 (which is, IMO, the most reliable Live game) I would often get a "Session no longer available" message when I tried to join a game. I reckon I was able to join only 1 in 4 games successfully - very annoying.

    After playing with the firewall setup on the router, I settled on this configuration: The WGA54G is in a demilitarized zone. This means that the firewall is effectly disabled for the WGA54G. Obviously, this is a silly thing to do for a PC, but as the WGA54G is a simple bridge with just an Xbox on the other end, I figured there wasn't much to hack on it. Then I opened the Xbox Live ports on the firewall (can't remember the numbers - there are 3 of them), and mapped them to the Xbox's IP address. So the game adaptor completely bypasses the firewall, and specific Live traffic is sent direct to the Xbox (via the game adaptor, of course).

    I'll probably experiement with putting the WGA54G back behind the firewall when I've got time. But for now, configured like this it works great. The "Session no longer available" errors are almost completely gone, and I can host :)

    If the WGA54G is in the demilitarised zone, but no ports are forwarded to the Xbox's IP address, I still have problems joining and hosting. I also tried it with the Xbox's IP address in the demilitarised zone, but again I seemed to struggle joining and hosting.

    I've probably got a more open system than is absolutely necessary right now - I'll try putting the WGA54G back behind the firewall and forwarding the Live ports direct to the Xbox when I get the chance.

    Anyway, sorry if that got a bit baffling - this networking malarky is a dark art at the best of times ;)

    I hope someone finds this useful - the WGA54G is a good little device, and when it's configured correctly it seems very reliable. If anyone needs more specific help setting one up I'd be happy to muck-in.
     
  2. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,108
    Thanks for the info, helpful stuff!

    I don't think you should have too much problems with the X-Box being open.

    Did you try just opening the ports up on the router for X-Box Live? You shouldn't really need a DMZ for the game adaptor, just the ports opened up.
     
  3. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    Yeah, that's what I figured. I tried it, but it definitely *seems* more reliable in its current configuration. When I get a spare evening I'll do some more scientific tests :)
     
  4. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    What a star.. after spending saturday night with the "session no longer available" I was going to go through the same steps.. never thought of DMZ the gaming adaptor.. I am using exactly the same linksys kit..

    I also use the gaming adaptor for my SLiMP3 player when the xbox is not on..

    I shall set this up tonight..

    Thanks

    Matt
     
  5. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    Cool. Glad this might be helpful cos it took bloody ages to write :D

    Just map the Live ports (have a rummage on the connection faqs on Xbox.com if you don't know 'em) to the Xbox's IP address (which must be different from the WGA54G's, of course). Then chuck the WGA54G's IP address into the DMZ bit of the security settings. Make sure both devices are using static IP addresses.

    Hope it works as well for you as it has for me :)
     
  6. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    I'll let u know :)

    Matt
     
  7. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    Tried it all tonight.. worked like a dream had no issues joining games..

    Cheers

    Matt
     
  8. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    Great stuff. Thanks for the update, glad all that rambling proved useful
     
  9. chris_huh

    chris_huh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    I bought the WGA54G a while ago now and whenever i try to connect it to my PC's RJ-45 port and run the setup program from the disk it can't find.
    Well, this isn't entirely true, i have been able to get it connected twice but both times it has not allowed be to edit any of the stuff required to set it up.
    I have tried pluggin' it in loads of times in every order i can think of (plugging it in then turning it one, like that) and still to no avail.

    Is there something i am doing wrong, i assume it is and its not faulty as i have been able to connect to it twice before.
     
  10. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    I Just got a linksys wireless g bridge to connect my xbox to my wireless network. I am using the Linksys wireless g router. I have got the wireless bridge working with a PC so I can browse the net. But I cant get it working with the xbox. The xbox recognises that the their is a net connection and starting trying to download an update.

    Thus it wont let me configure the wireless bridge on network setting menu on the xbox (Well this is what I think it is anyway) Any ideas on how I can get it working ? I have got the xbox working online wirelessly using xbconnect and my wireless laptop. It works but its a bit laggy at the moment.

    Any advice appreciated.
     
  11. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Mr_Belowski you seem like an expert on this, any tips on how I can get the linksys wireless bridge to work with my xbox :lease:
     
  12. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    To be honest, I don't really know. If it's the update download that's not playing ball, try plugging the XBox directly into a port on the router, get the Xbox dash updated, then plug it back into the router and start playing with the network settings. I lent my xbox to a mate a couple of months ago so it's all a bit fuzzy now...

    Oh, and one thing I did find out (on topic but not an answer to your question) is that the wireless bridge should *not* need to be in a DMZ
     
  13. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    I found the problem. You are correct that for the update the xbox has to be directly connected to the cable connection. I sorted this but still couldnt connect wirless to XB live using the bridge.

    I found the problem to be the Mac address on the bridge. The bridge and xbox need to share the xbox Mac address. Changed it manually on the bridge then deleted the bridge from the wireless router. When it found it again it could only see the one Mac address.

    In effect you are tricking the router into thinking that the xbox isnt actually there, but it works perfectly wireless now. Shame there is nothing in the instructions, on the Linksys or Live websites that explains how to get it to work.
     
  14. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    Glad you sorted it mate. Weird tho, cos I didn't have to do the MAC address cloning - it just worked for me
     
  15. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    I might be because you are using the wireless gaming adapter which has probably been designed to avoid this problem.
     
  16. sanj

    sanj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newport
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi all,

    I'm about to buy the WGA54G adaptor from simply, but was wondering if it can be used to attach to a pc rather than the XBOX? Is it exactly the
    same as a normal bridge?

    Thanks,

    Sanjiv
     
  17. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    I dont know about the gaming adapter but the bridge works fine with a PC. However I would not recommend the Linksys Wireless bridge to anyone. Its extremely tempremental and difficult to setup.
     
  18. Manuel Fraga

    Manuel Fraga
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mr Belowski,

    I see that you assigned different IPs for each device (xbox and game adapter). What GW did you assign for both...your router's IP...or did you assign the game adapters IP as your xbox's GW?

    Thanks for all your previous input...
     
  19. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    I put the router's IP address as the gateway on the XBox
     

Share This Page

Loading...