1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XBox Live & Netgear Routers

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by CatManDo, Apr 30, 2005.

1. CatManDo

CatManDo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +242
    Hi

Just upgraded my Netgear 834g 54mb router for the Netgear 834gt 108mb router, and since I have changed Xbox live has failed on me a few times.

Does anyone know if there are issues with the Netgear 834gt and live?

I may just have to go back to my original router if the problems persist.

TIA

2. -Spike-

-Spike-

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +171
    I've been using the DG834GT for several months now and it's been as soild as a rock.
    When you say failed, can you elaborate?

To begin with I did have problems with NAT. I think this was down to the GT having the inbuilt double firewall, it was fairly well locked down out of the box.
    Several things I did-
    Forward the appropriate ports
    Add the Xbox IP into LAN IP Setup, then add the Xbox IP into DMZ

Hope this helps

3. unkle faz

unkle faz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +35
    FAO: SPIKE: few question if u don't mind!!! it sounds as though u might b able to help!

i have a netgear d834, which connect both my laptop and xbox, however every now and then when connected to xbox live the connection terminates. i get referred to the xbox live 'help screen' which performs its test and either comes back as 'dns not resolved' or 'xbox live cannot be found'.

BUT....after five minutes or so without disconnecting any wires from the xbox or the router the xbox connects to live??? :confused:

in your thread above u mention about opening ports,how do u do this??? i've looked in the manual (which isn't much) and have gone thru the installation cd and i can't find any info on opening ports. so my question is how do u open ports and which ones do i open??? :lease: