1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox Live - Dissapointed

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by jerkyboy, Nov 19, 2003.

  1. jerkyboy

    jerkyboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had Xbox live now for over six months and I have to say that overall I am pretty disapointed with the performance.

    I have been playing games for a while over the years with my PC just using a crappy 56k dial up modem. I can honestly say that using my Xbox with Telewest Braodband is not much smoother than my Dial up Days.

    Most games suffer from some sort of Lag, the latest being Top Spin which often is unplayable due to the delay after pressing a button to play a shot,its ridiculous.

    Moto GP 2, usually has one or two bikes flying all over the screen, Rainbow Six is far from silky smooth. The list goes on.

    I am wondering if perhaps I would be better of with BT, or do all Broadband suppliers suffer the same problems.

    Its a real Pisser, using my PC to surf the net is great, very fast. Its just not what I expected on Xbox.

    Any feedback or advice would be appreciated.
     
  2. SeeNoWeevil

    SeeNoWeevil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    2,690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +884
    I'd suggest changing your broadband supplier, try here for info on the better ISP's http://www.adslguide.org/. I'd recommend Nildram.

    Live should be relatively lag free.
     
  3. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +849
    try not to post the same thing in two different areas mate.

    i think its against forum rules.
     
  4. hulkhead

    hulkhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +11
    i have had xbox live since launch in the uk and have rarely seen any lag and i only have NTL 600k broadband connection. As speedsix says perhaps it may be a good idea to change suppliers. I would recommend xbox live to anyone as its the best laugh you can have and most of the games are top notch especially rainbox six 3, midtown madness, rtcw, grit, motogp2, crimson skies and hopefully pgr2 next week
     
  5. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    No lag for me - sounds like a local issue.
     
  6. captaineyecatch

    captaineyecatch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +21
    Who's server are you connecting to?? many xbox live users try and host to many people - Connect to a USA server and you will suffer some lag due to the distance.
    I host a lot of the the AVforums teams (R6, Sof2, Ghost recon games) and have very little lag But i do limit the number of people on my server - 8 for Ghost recon and 10 for R6 and 12 for Sof2.
    Are you using your PC when you are on xbox live ?? as that will cause lag especially if you have Kazzalite or similar on as that eats up the upload which is what you need for xbox live.
    What sort of speed are you getting on xbox live, post it here and i'll compare it with mine. To get the speed details go to the connection screen where it says searching for DNS servers etc and connect. Once its connected press the Y button and a screen will come up with your xbox live download and upload speeds, Ping etc.
     
  7. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got an -box yesterday, Live seems OK to me.

    Stats are:

    UL: 65kb, DL: 308kb, L: 181ms (187m), P: 18/25.

    Assume P is ping but what are the 2 figures for? What's L?

    Anymore info I can get see on that page?

    :smoke:
     
  8. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    L is latency away from the MS auth server. But to be honest the numbers that are generated are very questionable.

    Nel.
     
  9. captaineyecatch

    captaineyecatch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +21
    Yes the numbers arent 100% correct/reliable but they do give you a good idea of how well the xbox live is connecting/working.

    Mine are ....(does vary a bit)
    Upload = 230
    Download = 540
    Latency = 164m (165m)
    Ping = 20/25

    Not bad for a normal 512k ADSL BB connection.
     
  10. -Spike-

    -Spike-
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +218
    Personally I wouldn't pay any attention to the MS test.
    Just go to the link that speedsix posted above and the test there is about as accurate as they come.

    :)
     
  11. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Certainly doesn't look like the MS results are very acurate/reliable, certainly not in my case.

    Thanks for the info guys :)
     
  12. SeeNoWeevil

    SeeNoWeevil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    2,690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +884
    Doesn't the Ping X/X mean packet loss?

    UK live users all seem to have several packets dropped? Will have to check mine.
     
  13. obiwan

    obiwan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +5
    Ive never had any probs with XBlive
    Though some bikes do seem to jump sometimes on motogp, I put this down to other ppls connection.

    Im with Eclipse
     
  14. o THE CHAD o

    o THE CHAD o
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +83
    xbl is great!

    it only lags when stupid yanks join your server.

    and then get promptly kicked out by captain!
     
  15. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    MS must have been listening - my DSL connection disappeared today.

    Nothing the ISP can do till Monday at the earliest.

    No XBL for me till then :(
     
  16. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm new to Xbox live, and though I have had incredible fun with top spin and moto gp, I have consistant problems with losing connection. On top spin it says the other person has left, and leaves me to 'win' the tie, even though I am actually getting thrashed. This means my rating is far too high as I am actually crap at it. I have had similar probelms with moto gp. Are other gamers leaving because I smell bad, or is my connection breaking down, or is theirs. It is very frustrating. I am using blueyonder, and have had lag issues on xboxlive, and most importantly consistant loss of connection. But I don't know if it is my problem. I have blueyonder for the pc, and that has been fine as far as I know, but then I don't play on line games on the pc. Should I change supplier? If anyone has been playing top spin and has never experienced lag or loss of connection, maybe you could give me a game or 2 to see if the problem goes at my end.

    Come and improve you top spin ranking, and help me out at the same time.
     
  17. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    What bandwidth do you buy from blueyonder?

    Neil.
     
  18. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2
    600K. Should I get more?
     
  19. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    No that should be more than enough. Do you have anything else
    using the internet connection at the same time your Xbox is running? Or do you have a wireless network?

    Neil.
     
  20. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am using it wireless. It connects fine, and sometimes, like last night on motogp, it faultless.

    I am using a Netgear MR814 router to a ME101 bridge connected to the Xbox
     
  21. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Check that someone else isn't logging into your wireless network and using your bandwidth. This is becoming a fairly common issue.

    Neil.
     
  22. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2
    sorry to sound stupid....but how do I do that? I have only just fitted it a few days ago
     
  23. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    No idea with that equipment- check the manual - did you have the slowdown before you got the wireless network?

    Neil.
     
  24. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Also when you login to Live switch your PC off.
     
  25. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2

    I'm a bloke!!!
     
  26. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2
    works great now, thanks Neil :clap:
     
  27. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    What was it? What did you do?
     
  28. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2
    I turn off my pc, I assume so the Xbox doesn't get inturrupted by emails coming in etc. Smooth lag free PGR2. Awesome. Add me to your list and I'll race yer.

    And lose!:suicide:
     
  29. SeeNoWeevil

    SeeNoWeevil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    2,690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +884
    if you want to still use the pc while on live download a prog from www.netlimiter.com. You can set a limit of say 5kB/sec for the comp so web/email still work (similar to 56k speed wise) and live wont get intterupted.
     
  30. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Nice one. I'll give it a go.

    Kwijibo1 - will add you to Friends List when back on tomorrow night.
     

Share This Page

Loading...