XBox Live and NTL

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by Stevo99, Oct 4, 2004.

  1. Stevo99

    Stevo99

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +65
    Got NTL broadband
    Whats the best way to connect to XBox Live with this?
     
  2. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,942
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,460
    Do you have a standalone cable modem or do you connect to a set-top box? You can just attach an ethernet cable between the modem and the Xbox if you like.

    I have a cable modem and use a wireless router to connect my 2 xboxes and my 2 pcs simultaneously. Its quite easy to set up really [EDIT] if you have a bit of tech know-how, but it costs a few quid to buy the equipment.
     
  3. AndoverRed

    AndoverRed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +5
    Craig, as a fellow MUFC supporter :) , here's my comments.

    Assuming you have a cable modem, I would plump for a wireless router. The Linksys WRT54G has 4 fixed Ethernet ports and supports the 802.11G standard (54Mb).

    This gives you the flexibility to use a cat5 Ethernet cable or wireless for the x-box. Depends on the proximity of cable modem to x-box.

    The WGA54G, or similar, will be needed for the x-box if using wireless.

    Cheers

    Mark
     
  4. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,942
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,460
    Hang your head in shame, AndoverRed. At least the other bloke has the decency to be from Manchester, like myself. Of course, I'm enlightened enough to follow the Blues.

    The Linksys routers appear to be the way to go, as they have models that are fully Live compatible 'open' routers, as explained here in the "What does NAT mean to me and my friends" section.
     
  5. Stevo99

    Stevo99

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +65
    Thanks for the Info guys

    I probably should have added, I have a network at home already. My NTL modem go's into my wireless router on PC 1. This is then connected wirelessly to PC to which has a wireless network card in it. Is it just a case of sticking a crossover cabel between the router and the XBox then?
     
  6. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,942
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,460
    Yes, just connect the router to the Xbox but not with a cross-over, you want a straight through.
     
  7. Stevo99

    Stevo99

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +65
    Cool, do i need to set a static IP anywhere as they are auto generated at the moment?
     
  8. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,942
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,460
    AFAIK, you don't have to set a static address, but I do anyway.
     
  9. applevenus

    applevenus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    all you need to do is plug the Xbox directly into your Router and it should pick up an IP address from your Router. If you have problems go to the xbox.com support section and give them a call. Usually problems are router-related. I've set up loads of Xbox Live connections and have never had any problems - usually plug-and-play.
     
  10. UncagedTyphoon

    UncagedTyphoon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    City Street having it Large Essex
    Ratings:
    +3
    lorenzini cheers for this link found it quite use full top post
     
  11. Stevo99

    Stevo99

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +65
    Thanks guys
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice