1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox light gun 480p argghhhhhh !

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by ted26, Jul 10, 2003.

  1. ted26

    ted26
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have just purchased the mad catz light gun for my xbox :) But in the instructions it says that it wont work on LCD monitors,HD(except 480p),projection,or line-doubler televisions :confused:

    My xbox is connected to my plasma(panny 5) via svhs so i think this is why i am shooting blanks :laugh:

    Would i be right in saying i need to connect my(chipped pal)xbox via component so it runs at 480p?

    I have done a little research and it seems i need the xbox high def pack which will then make the xbox run in 480p mode.

    thx for any replies :)
     
  2. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,613
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    A standard UK xbox wont run 480p mate. Also I dont think a lightgun will work with a plasma but I dont mind being corrected.
     
  3. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,613
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    oops..sorry mate, just read your post again and noticed you have a chipped machine. You will need to get a videomode disc to change modded xbox into NTSC to allow progressive but need someone to confirm if gun will work with a Plasma.
     
  4. RobbieG

    RobbieG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    Light Guns do not work with Plasma TVs as I found out when I upgraded to my Plasma. I have had to stop playing my PS2 gun games whiched pi**ed me off a bit
     
  5. ted26

    ted26
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    but the instructions say it will work on HD if run at 480p ??

    Does this not include my plasma :( .First it was haunted castle 3D and now its the light gun grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

    Thx for help everyone :suicide:
     
  6. CMcK

    CMcK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +28
    I have a similar problem. I bought the Thrustmaster lightgun for the Xbox as it is supposed to be 100Hz compatible.
    Doesn't work with my Loewe Aconda set though.
    Three out of five shots are on target, the other two are miles out.

    Anyone else had a similar problem with other 100Hz TV's and this model of lightgun.
     
  7. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    perhaps just fire faster?:confused:
     
  8. gunrock

    gunrock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Burbs, London, UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Can you disable the 100hz mode? That's the best way to test whether the gun is inaccurate. Who knows what extra noise is added to the image through the varios algorithms applied to make it 100hz.

    Personally, it's the reason I've haven't bought a new tv or a plasma. Still sticking with my 4:3 33-inch Ferguson.
     
  9. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,150
    Sampling display devices introduce a timing mismatch between what the gun "sees" and what the playstation is outputting. Its a well covered phenomenon. Lightguns and plasma , LCD, scalers, deinterlacers 100Hz tvs don't work.
     
  10. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do any of these guns work with a Panasonic front projector? AE100....

    Just wondering.....


    Rich
     
  11. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,150
    I'd put money on that being a negative for the panny ae100. Like I said anything that samples the signal coming out of the console prior to display will likely render the lightgun useless or unreliable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...