1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox & HS10..;) now enjoying 720p..

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by museumsteve, Jan 6, 2003.

  1. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,591
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    well aside from getting ready to love my DVD collection all over again, I finally found out the true meaning of progressive today when I tried a couple of Xbox games in 720p.
    Buying the HS-10 was a 'spur of the moment thing' after reading so many good things about it last week and after thinking games couldn;t look ay better than 480p throughmy Panny (AE100) I finally got round to switching on 720p in the Xbox settings and tested NBA2K3 and Tony Hawks 4..
    I'm sure I chipped a tooth or two as my jaw bounced back from the floor in amazement..but hell it was worth it.
    Xbox and 720p, I will never look back..;) Tomorrow night I;m gonna go through my Xbox games and find out what is 720p and have a night of gaming heaven.:)
     
  2. Iain Shields

    Iain Shields
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +3
    You lucky LUCKY man!!! :cool:
     
  3. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    hmmm - I'm confused,

    I thought that xbox games were only programmed to 480p ?

    Or are you using some form of de-interlacer in the HS10?
     
  4. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    nice one steve,

    how about a list of the titles that support 720p ? :)
     
  5. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,591
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    I only have US games and mostly only support 480p but there are more and more coming out that do 720p. First ones I've found are Tony Hawks 4 and NBA2K3 but I'll get a definitive list.:)
     
  6. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    nice one , cheers for that.
     
  7. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Remember that 720p takes more processing power and some games actually suffer because of it. Try Dragons Lair in 1080i Steve ;)

    Neil.
     
  8. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,591
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    I've been reading about Dragoins Lair today mate and it's said to be awesome to look at..might have to take a look.:)
     
  9. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Look yes, play no :)

    Neil.
     
  10. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    ahh, cheers.

    yeah, I'm playing us xbox games at 480p through panny.

    Had presumed games programmers would be too lazy to program 720p.

    ...and now I'm guessing my panny doesn't do 720p:(
     
  11. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Panny what? Only the higher end stuff supports 720p without scaling.

    Regards,
    Neil.
     
  12. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    yeah, now I'm feeling daft -

    AE100 - the cheapest, so I'm guessing not (too lazy to go find the manual)
    It took me 3 months of research (well- reading this and avsforum) before selecting the right combo.

    that said - the new thread here says someone's got it doing 720 p ?
     
  13. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    The project must be scaling it as it doesn't have enough resolution to do 720p, if the specs are correct on Panachroncics website. I'm surprised if it looks better than 480p in that case.

    My plasma does 720p but it scales the picture.

    Regards,
    Neil.
     

Share This Page

Loading...