1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xbox hi def

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by thekingbeyond, Jul 27, 2005.

  1. thekingbeyond

    thekingbeyond
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +281
    Just bought the microsoft hi def pack, but can`t get it to work, i have a softmodded xbox running evo-x, when i connect the hidef pack up i dont get a picture at all, will it only display a picture with an ntsc box, i cant enable 480p, 720p with the composite cable as they are greyed out and cant do it with the hidef pack because i cant get a picture :mad: :( :rolleyes:
     
  2. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +488
    HDTV is supported only on NTSC Xboxes so you need to use the Enigmah Video Switcher application to set your box to be NTSC then the HDTV resolutions will becoemavailable.
     
  3. thekingbeyond

    thekingbeyond
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +281
    so you dont get any display at all through component untill you switch to ntsc
     
  4. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +488
    Correct!
     
  5. thekingbeyond

    thekingbeyond
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +281
    Just used Enigmah Video Switcher to switch to ntsc no problem, however still get no picture from the hidef pack, i do get sound from it though.
     
  6. imilne

    imilne
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +70
    Wrong.

    I had an unmodded PAL xbox that quite happily outputted component (using the Microsoft hidef cables).

    Iain
     
  7. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    King - sounds like you've got a faulty lead. Is it one of the new type ones or one with the breakout box so you can use your own component cables?

    imilne - thats right you should get a picture but it will only be a standard interlaced picture which looks just the same as it does with the advanced scart
     
  8. thekingbeyond

    thekingbeyond
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +281
    i have the one with the break out box, i know its not the lead, i am not getting any picture so looks like its going back, thanks guys for the advice
     

Share This Page

Loading...