1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Notice: AVForums will be offline at 10pm for no longer than 30 minutes for scheduled maintenance. Apologies for any inconvenience this causes.
    Dismiss Notice

Xbox Hi-Def Mod - what resolution?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Tejstar, May 15, 2005.

  1. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    The title doesn't make sense but what I wanted to know is that when using the mod I've got several options i.e. 'Does your tv support 480p/720p/1080i?'

    I have set the 480p option to 'yes' but what I wanted to know is whether I should set the 720p & 1080i options to 'yes' too?

    I have a Panasonic TH37PE30 plasma which is only standard def (852*480 resolution). Afaik it should accept 720p and 1080i signals (it will just downsize them) so should I switch these to 'yes'. I haven't got any xbox 720p/1080i games to test it but just wanted to know what everyone else had their displays set to?

    Thanks! :)
     
  2. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have set mine to 480p & 720p for a panny PW7 (which only does 480p), having read a few threads where people have said that when they use external scalers with their PW7's the image quality seems to be better with 720p input into the plasma, allowing it to downscale itself.
     
  3. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    If it only works in 480p there is no point in having it set to anything else.
     
  4. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    I know there's no point in setting it at 720p if the game only accepts 480p. But I suppose my question was more theoretical given that I have a SD display.

    Even a hi-def image downscaled is meant to be better than SD (although I haven't seen this for myself).
     
  5. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Do you have a scaler ? If not its not really relevant.
     
  6. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    No don't have a scaler - does that mean I should keep the 720p and 1080i options on 'no'?
     
  7. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    Another quick question - if I have a game like Soul Calibur II which supports 480p and 720p. Is there an in-game option to select which output I want to display.

    i.e. if on the xbox dahboard I have both 480p and 720p 'ticked', how do I know which output I'll be getting.

    As you can tell I haven't got a 720p supported game to test this myself... :(
     
  8. ibizarich

    ibizarich
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Tick all of them , it defaults to the highest the game supports.
     
  9. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    Tejstar, if you play Soul Calibur 2 and you have your xbox set to 720p but your TV does not support that res then you will just get a black screen, as Soul Calibur automatically selects 720p.
     
  10. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +995
    Ok cheers guys!
     
  11. is1111

    is1111
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +100
    poontang that isn't truein this instance as his display will accept 720p but scales it to the screens own resolution so you still get a picture. soul calibur 2 is a strange one as i have just done a test on my xbox and panasonic PWD7 which isn't a hd screen. i read about 720p being 4:3 somewhere before for this game but didn't pay any attention to it but thought i would check it now.when xbox is set to 480p you get a widescreen version of the game but when 720p is set to on (xbox settings) the game is then displayed in 4:3 on a widescreen tv. i didn't change any settings on the screen in these pictures just changed xboxs output to enable 720p in the second set of pics.
    pictures aren't too good but they give you an idea of what i am talking about.also had to resize to get them on this post which i am not good at
    i'm not sure which i prefer to be honest.
    game looks great on both settings
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,489
    Is your TV set to wide mode?

    Take another in game battle picture with the TV set to wide so it fills the screen.

    if you look at both the clocks and names they are squished up.

    remember component doesnt carry automatic switching from 4:3 to 16:9
     
  13. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    is1111 - i think maybe i didn't word my post correctly. what i was getting at was, if the xbox has 720p set to ON, but the display does not handle 720p, say a Toshiba 36ZD48p for example, then all you get is a blank screen when you try to play a game that is in HD, Soul Calibur, Freedom Fighters, etc.
     
  14. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,489
    actually forget what I said, SC2 is appearing correctly, its just that its a 4:3 native game and those black bars are their to stop the image from being stretched. when your watching it in 480P because of the lower resolution you can play it in 4:3 or 16:9 without losing frames as you would with it at a higher RES in widescreen
     
  15. bumble

    bumble
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    poontang tells lies
     
  16. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    You wish. When we heading out onto the links? or are you still running scared :)
     
  17. bumble

    bumble
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    we got an audit in a month so i workin mon-fri mostly till then,but when i off in week we do boughton or as you mention links i better show you westgate WARNING smaller greens precision needed! ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...