1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xbox help

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by jason t, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    hi is it possible to play back dvd's at a higher resolution i.e 720p ??
    i have a modded xbox,high def pack and video switch disc do i need anything else

    thanks

    jason
     
  2. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    Xbox Media Center will do it.. not too sure on the results myself as I don't have anything that'll accept 720p but I have heard good results.
     
  3. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    i didnt want to use that it sounds to complicated


    jason
     
  4. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    In which case other than using another piece of software of a similar ilk (and complexity) I think you're limited to at best 480p (and even that's not straight forward) output from your box.
     
  5. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    dosent using the enigmah region disk enable hi def settings?
    or is that only for games??
     
  6. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    put the region switcher on a dvd/cdrw and load it up in the xbox (presumably you know about burning xbox compatable disks). Then, when the disk has loaded you press either A or B (I can never remember) to enable NTSC mode. Once this has done, remove the disk and reboot the xbox. Now boot into MSDashboard, once here go to settings, then video. Now enable 480p and 720p (and possibly 1080i although there is not much point in the last one) and reboot.
     
  7. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    thanks !! i assume i can play movies in 720p from here is that right??

    jason
     
  8. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    Whoa there - enabling 720p only works for games - the MS Dash will still only play DVD's interlaced at 480 unless it is patched.

    That's my understanding of it.
     
  9. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    i read that if you have the xbmc installed you can upscale movies !! i just wondered if there was an easier way?? if it outputs the games in 720p using the switcher disc why cant it upscale movies?

    jason
     
  10. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    If only everything in life was that simple. The 720p games are coded as such, however the Ms Dash DVD system is not coded to upscale - it just isn't physically possible.

    XBMC is the only way to go to get DVD's in 720p I'm afraid - unfortunately XBMC has only limited DVD menu compatibility at the moment as well.
     
  11. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yes, XBMC has no dvd menu playback at all! :p

    It is a talked about feature of AVA-Launch but not introduced yet....

    However, at the moment, as andrew says, XBMC is still the only upscaling xbox DVD player.
     
  12. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    thanks

    jason
     

Share This Page

Loading...