1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox help for a newbie!

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by kreid, Nov 26, 2004.

1. kreid

kreid

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys.

I'm a newbie to Xbox (and these forums really)....came over here from the DVDF.

I got myself an Xbox yesterday and have been having conversations with a few guys at work about modding and chipping them.

The Xbox I got was a Crystal (bargain with 2 extra controllers, steering wheel and game for £99 in Argos) and I want to mod the console so I can play imported and copied games.

I was also wondering if there are chips to do anything else fancy - like, could I get a chip that mods it for the above, but also lets me watch DVD's on it?

So, could any of you tell me where I can get a well priced chip from. Secondly, would I be able to do it myself, or should I get the guy at work to do it (but he wants £30.00 for it - plus payment for chip on top of that!)

Cheers guys.

2. Stellavision

Stellavision

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +76
    You can watch R2 dvd's on any Xbox, but if you chip it you will be able to play multi region dvd's provided you also have the appropriate software on there.
    I bought my SmartXX chip from www.premodded.com . Very good service.
    You can get a solderable one if you are comfortable with a soldering iron, or send your xbox to premodded and he will fit it for you.
    Alternatively, try one of the solderless adapters like the Xaptor.

3. Squiffy

Squiffy
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    Please note that people will be happy to talk about chipping your XBox to play import games.

But discussion of how to help people play copied games is a no no. :rolleyes:

P.S. Not directed at you Stellavision! :)

4. kreid

kreid

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: