1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XBOX HDTV Games List

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by PC Nut, Apr 30, 2004.

  1. PC Nut

    PC Nut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    645
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South West
    Ratings:
    +66
    Can we have a sticky, with a list of games and the resolution they support.
    (480 - 720 P) etc


    Many thanks PC Nut.
     
  2. PC Nut

    PC Nut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    645
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South West
    Ratings:
    +66
    Please add your games to this list.
     
  3. supersonic87

    supersonic87
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales
    Ratings:
    +2
    HDTV Arcade
    HDTV Pub

    Not having a HDTV, could anybody tell me if a PAL XBox modded with a PAL-NTSC video selector disk would output the same res as the equivilent NTSC game.

    Rich
     
  4. PC Nut

    PC Nut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    645
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South West
    Ratings:
    +66
    Thanks supersonic87 for the links, just thought we should have a reference here.

    Can't answer your question though as ive not heared of a (NTSC video selector disk )
     
  5. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,619
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,020
    If you dont have progressive capable display then the videomode selector will simply allow NTSC output, you wont really notice any difference as most PAL games run perfectly in PAL60 anyway (with a very few exceptions)
    Also some PA:L games wont work when the machine is in NTSC mode..England Intl Footie is just one of them :(
     
  6. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    I don't think so, no - the PAL Xbox seems to use a slightly different video chip, that has had all HDTV ability removed from it, so they simply aren't capable of doing it, no matter what you do. The only way to get HDTV out of an Xbox is to own a US or Japanese machine.

    As for those lists, I have found them to be VERY unreliable. Here is the list of games I know for a fact support HDTV on the Xbox:

    First off, 99% of Xbox games support 480p, so there is no point listing them. Even those that say they don't on the box (Brute Force) actually do. I have so far only found 1 game that doesn't support 480p and that was XGRA, which was crap anyway. I've been told there are a few others, but nothing important.

    As for 'proper' HDTV games:

    720p

    Amped 2
    Freedom Fighters
    THUG
    Soul Calibur 2 (displays as 4:3 within a 16:9 frame to maintain framerate)

    1080i

    Dragons Lair
    Syberia
    Enter the Matrix

    Sonic Heroes is not 720p, despite what it says on the box.

    These are the only ones I know for definite, there may be others I haven't tested.

    Best looking HD game overall? Amped 2, by far - 720p rocks and it is a great looking game that looks even more amazing in the higher res! It would be SC2, but that 4:3 thing really detracts from the overall impact.
     
  7. Akael

    Akael
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, I just bought a retail PAL Xbox and had it modded and if you use the Enigmah Video Mode switcher to change region to NTSC, the option for all HDTV output modes appears in the MS dashboard (which you can still access once your new software is installed). This requires a component cable to be connected but it most definitely works as the image is perfect on my HDTV LCD and the 480/720/1024 options are all there :)
     
  8. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just to second the fact that a PAL Xbox (when modded) can do all the HDTV modes just fine (I even bought Syberia to check mine could do 1080i!)

    I'm pretty sure there is absolutely no difference re. video hardware between a US & UK Xbox. Just one is factory set to NTSC (+possible HDTV modes), and one PAL.
     
  9. Akael

    Akael
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It even does PAL games in Progressive Scan mode =D At least the few that I have anyway.
     
  10. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sorry to sound stupid, but.....

    What does Progressive Scan mode =D mean and how do you activate it?

    I've found that most of my PAL games will happily play in 460P, but some (Timesplitters 2, 007 Agent Under Fire) have problems unless the Xbox is running as a PAL machine.
     
  11. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    for 007 to play at 480p u have to disable 720p and 1080i

    silly i know
     
  12. Akael

    Akael
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just mean the progressive options that appear in the MS Dashboard when it's in NTSC mode, the =D is just a smiley =)
     
  13. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Doh!

    Cheers!
     
  14. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Eh? From what I remember of my mates PAL Xbox there are no progressive scan options in the dashboard...
     
  15. Akael

    Akael
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The pre-requisites for progressive output are:
    a)a chipped box
    b)enigmah videomode changer set to NTSC

    You'll then find the progressive options in the MS Dashboard.
     
  16. peahead

    peahead
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,843
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +277
    A chipped xbox can not output pal progressive scan only ntsc but i am sure microsoft could sort it out if they wanted to with a software update through xbox live.
     
  17. Akael

    Akael
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine certainly does as my screen always flickers slightly after the Xbox goes from Dashboard view to the game and I notice a significant quality difference. Incidentally that flicker happens when I enable progressive on my progressive scan DVD player, so it's easy to tell when my screen is displaying progressive =)

    However, I can't speak for all games or all versions of Xbox, mine is brand new if that makes any difference.
     
  18. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Does your display not give any indication what the input is?
     
  19. Akael

    Akael
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, but you can tell because its a very high resolution LCD and I can spot the changes from standard component images to progressive ones.
     
  20. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm pretty sure peahead is correct. I am certain no xbox (chipped or otherwise) can output PAL progressive scan.

    NTSC and chipped PAL XBox's can output NTSC progressive scan (+ HDTV modes) though, and I think this is what Akael is seeing.

    My projector will accept PAL and NTSC progressive scan (+ HDTV modes), and show the type of signal it is using. My chipped XBox (large number of PAL & NTSC games) has never been able to produce a PAL progressive image.
     
  21. Akael

    Akael
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does that mean that some PAL games contain NTSC progressive information, or is something else happening? I swear I'm not seeing things o_O
     
  22. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    From my experience it seems that most recent PAL games will happily play in NTSC Progressive (480P) on a chipped XBox.

    I do though, have some games that will only play in normal, interlaced NTSC (480I), or not display anything in NTSC at all (where I need to switch the XBox back to PAL).

    Certainly the games that play in 480P always look much sharper than those that only do 480I.

    Cheers,

    Richard
     

Share This Page

Loading...