1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XBOX - DVD Remote \ DVD Region X (datel)

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by thestorm, Mar 20, 2002.

  1. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi all

    I'm curious abt this product :

    http://www.play.com/Play247.asp?page=title&r=XBOX&title=100483


    http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B000063S36/ref=br_lf_li_1_2/026-5695885-0458842


    Ive emailed the company (http://www.datel.co.uk/)
    so will wait for them to get back to me,
    thier web site doesn't tell me anything.


    in the meam does anyone know....

    Is this a once installed program?
    Or does it have to be re-run everytime I want to watch a movie
    from a different region?

    Also,
    Does any one know of an unofficial 3rd party contrller for the xbox? As an alternative to the horrible one that Microsoft supply?

    Cya,
    Shaz
     
  2. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,458
    let me know what you find out ( or anyone else if they know for sure )

    Im after a back-up R1 player and the XBOX could be a good answer. The region X thing will be worth while getting but ONLY if its a run once thing and stores settings on the HD, if its a swap thing like on PS2 then im not bothered.

    Does anyone know what will happen if I just import the American controler
     
  3. lechacal

    lechacal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +66
    Er, you'll get a controller exactly like the UK one?
    But from America. :D

    The Jap one is smaller. Any controller should work with any Xbox - the connection is the same in all regions.
     
  4. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,458
    Sorry tired when I wrote that :) I meant what would happen if I imported the American IR Controller and DVD playback thingy
     
  5. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    I got a reply from Datel and they said :


    " Unfortunately I do not have any information on products being released for the X-box."



    I think it's best to wait for reviews ... etc or if soemone goes
    ahead and buys the conterller and dvd region x.
    I'm not going to take the risk. As i already got a lot of "damage"
    with 4 games and another 3 on the way!

    Cya,
    Shaz
     
  6. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    I'd think you'd have to boot with the RegionX disc each time you want to watch a movie from a non-R2 country. Unless Datel have hacked the Xbox somehow (They do have a habit of tinkering), they shouldn't be allowed to install software permanently on the hard drive. Also, there's no way to run software from there even if it was installed.

    So a bit of aggro to get R1 playback, but not too much.
     
  7. alanrob

    alanrob
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +235
    RegionX should work just like it does on the PS2 - You have to boot with it and select the correct region if you want to view a non R2 DVD.

    Some new I got from www.playstationmods.com/news.htm
    is as follows -

    If you want to play Region 1 DVD titles on your UK PAL X-Box simply use a USA DVD Remote Control :) We'll be getting a large stock of these shortly.

    No idea on price of these.
     
  8. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,458
    So a USA DVD Remote WILL work on the UK X-BOX and allow R1 playback ?
     
  9. lechacal

    lechacal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +66
    But if you do use one of those, does that mean it won't play R2?
     
  10. alanrob

    alanrob
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +235
    Mmm - wouldn't think so!
    Just take the thing out if you want to play R2 DVD's. NO???
     
  11. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,458
    A US kit works out at about £26 from DVD BOX OFFICE, not much if it will work
     
  12. weaponofchoice

    weaponofchoice
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    American remote will region lock your xbox to R1 if used on a british machine and visa versa
     
  13. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    what if i plug in 2 dvd remote receivers into the xbox.
    one for region 1 and the other region 2.
    will it lock to 1 & 2. I know all this sounds silly..but some
    people will do this. I wouldn't. I already have a good dvd
    player. And my next dvd player will be at least £1k.

    Cya,
    Shaz
     
  14. weaponofchoice

    weaponofchoice
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So what you're saying is because the DVD player costs £1K it will be a good'un?
     
  15. lechacal

    lechacal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +66
    He wasn't talking about a disc. He was talking about the US controller kit being able to play R1 DVDs.
    My question was, if you buy a US DVD controller, would you then also need a UK controller in order to play R2 DVDs!
     
  16. alanrob

    alanrob
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +235
    Doesn't a UK Xbox play R2 disk straight out of the box?
    I've no idea how the Xbox works as I don't have one. If it's just a simple task of removing the US DVD controller wouldn't the Xbox return to being a R2 player?
     
  17. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,150
    This is all just rumour but I have heard that when you initially use the dvd kit it writes the region code of the kit int an eeprom in the xbox. If you then swap the dvd dongle ( the IR sensor bit) for an alternative region it doesn't work.

    Like I say this is all just rumour at the moment. The uk.games.video.xbox group is up now. This is probably the best first stop for info.
     
  18. thestorm

    thestorm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East London, UK
    Ratings:
    +8


    that's my approximate budget... it could double.
    no doub't it will :rolleyes:
    Yes it will most likely be a "good'un" compared to the dvd player
    on an XBOX or peaS2.

    If I was considering it now, I'd probably buy an Arcam fmj dv27(http://www.arcam.co.uk/fmj/products/dv27.html) or Toshiba sd-900e
    (http://www.techtronics.com/uk/shop/50-toshiba-sd-900e-900-multi-region-dvd-player.html)

    Cya,
    Shaz
     
  19. lechacal

    lechacal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +66
    No. You have to buy the DVD kit which comes as a remote controller and an IR receiver dongle which you put in one of the controller ports.
     

Share This Page

Loading...