1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox connection problems

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by sjl, Apr 29, 2002.

  1. sjl

    sjl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok I just brought an Xbox on saturday and only managed to play Halo for an hour :( .
    Didnt get a chance to use it yesterday but I did manage to buy a Joytech optical cable :) so I rushed home tonight from work to plug it in and have a session in 5.1 to only spend the last hour trying to figure out why I cant get proper 5.1.
    Please correct me if I am wrong here but this is how I have connected it up to a Sony STRDB930 amplifier.
    I have taken the optical input from the Xbox to the TV/LD in on the amp.Is this correct?I do not get the blue indicator come on when I start the game.I also have tried changing the settings on the Xbox as well.
    Oh yeah also tried fiddling with the amp settings without much luck.

    Any help appreciated as I need!! to play some Halo :D

    Thanks guys

    Steve
     
  2. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +27
    at a guess - properly check that you have surround sound option enabled on your xbox main settings.
    secondly, I used tohave a 930, make sure you have the right audio input selected, ie. optical.
    Thirdly, try setting it manually to 5.1, and check the rear speakers/sub, there may be a problem auto-detecting.
     
  3. ashearer

    ashearer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Binfield, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am guessing you haven't changed the sound options in the XBOX set-up screen.
     
  4. kenjolly

    kenjolly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2001
    Messages:
    101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Blackpool
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi,

    had a similar problem (I have a 930 as well). TV is connected using analogue and XBOX optical is connected in the right hand side optical in (DVD in the left hand side).

    Had to change the input for the TV device to AUTO as it was set to analogue (which meant it ignored the optical input).

    To change it set the device to TV, under the flap there's a button called 'input' - ensure this is set to auto. Hopefully that should do it (assuming XBOX is set to DD).

    Kenneth
     
  5. sjl

    sjl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks guys

    It was my fault I had not set tbe Xbox up properly doh!!

    I owe you all a beer :D

    Steve
     
  6. john87

    john87
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was gonna tell you to go into the XBoxs' menu set up but you said this
    so I assumed you would have done that.
     
  7. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +27
    John87, trying to win yourself a free beer?;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...