1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox Chipping - which?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Spookyville, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. Spookyville

    Spookyville
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bradford, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have just recently got an Xbox and am looking to chip it shortly. have done some searching in relation to the mods available - what in peoples opinions is the one to go for - a Xenium or the X-Ecutor 3 ?
    Thanks..
     
  2. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,981
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,121
    Just gone for an Xecuter 2.6 myself - couldn't see the point of getting an Xecuter 3, especially as it's around an extra £15.
     
  3. slingshot

    slingshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    went for an xecutor 3 because it stops live access when enabled on the newer 1.6 xbox's which none of the others did.
     
  4. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,981
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,121
    True, I guess that stops those moments where you forget to turn off the chip :eek:
     
  5. Spookyville

    Spookyville
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bradford, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks for replies. looks like its an x-ecutor 3 then :)
     
  6. Del Boy Smiffy

    Del Boy Smiffy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    6,098
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +387
    Spooky, where you getting it done and how much, im looking around for prices as im getting mine chipped.
     
  7. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Apparently Xenium is the way to go these days. I have an Executor 2 in mine which has worked perfectly for over a year. There are no issues with live unless you are an idiot and go into live with the chip on, I can never understand people getting worried about this :rolleyes:

    Going rate is around £40 - £50 for someone to install it for you inc chip.
     
  8. Nikumba

    Nikumba
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Got my Executor 3 last night, opened up the xbox spent about an hour removing the solder from the LPC ports, since i ahve a first gen box it was filled with solder, was that was all out, put the pin header in, soldered that in place, put the chip in, connected up the wires and powered up.

    Worked first time, flashed the BIOS over the network, backed up the folders it said to, once it was working, got a 80Gb drive i had lying about put that in, it took seconds to configure the drive, copied the drives back over, installed a new dash, few apps :)

    Also you dont have to use a Video Switch disc since the video settings can all be done in the Config Live system.

    Well pleased with it

    Nikumba
     
  9. slingshot

    slingshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    Mate did mine for me last night took him about an hour or so to do the Xecutor3 chip on a 1.6 board. He's going to stick XBMC on tonight then I should be off to play games in hidef !
     
  10. CLH

    CLH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    Very pleased with my Xenium, lots of good stuff and works very well.

    A slight issue with auto video switching through the advanced scart.

    You actually get a blank screen and have to press the green button three times to start it.

    Other than that superb.

    Very glad I opted for a 120GB HDD as well now.
     
  11. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    HD upgrade is essential and 120 gig is a good balance between cost and capacity. Its what I have in mine. However If I was doing mine now I would probably pay the extra £20 or so and go for a 160 gig.
     
  12. CLH

    CLH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    When I listed all my must buy games I got to a list of 20 or so.

    Even assuming 5B each I'm still safe.

    You're right though. For £20 you can play another 10 or so games from the HDD.

    Playing from the HDD is so much quicker it's unreal.
     
  13. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    I've got a SmartXX. Very good chip and there is no need for external switches to disable it to go live. Simply boot into MS original bios from the bios/dash selection menu.
    For more info have a look at www.smartxx.com
     
  14. GagHalfrunt

    GagHalfrunt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    North Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've put the Xenium ICE on my xmas list. I like the idea of no dip switches.
     
  15. drphibes

    drphibes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    I have also got a Xbox with a SmartXX chip.
    Does everything I want and I got it from premodded , Ben was very helpfull and I would recommend him.

    Drphibes
     

Share This Page

Loading...