1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XBox as a Music Server?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by KeithO, Nov 30, 2003.

1. KeithO

KeithO

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +214
    I've been looking at some of the modded Xbox products available at www.premodded.com and they look good! Does anyone have one of these, maybe with a bigger HDD? How reliable is the mod?

My question is, can you somehow use one of these (maybe with a 200GB HDD) as a music server?

2. KeithO

KeithO

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +214
    No one ever tried this?!

3. monkeyleader

monkeyleader

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +90
  4. tartan_guru

tartan_guru

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +17
    I have been using an Xbox for media playback for around four months now. I bought it soley for this purpose and have never even played a game on it (other than using the 007 game to mod it)!
    I decided to buy a second hand xbox for £85 from Computer Exchange. I was going to go down the mod-chip route, but at about the same time, the software hacks using the game 007 Agent Under Fire. Using a soldering iron and the instructions found on this site (the guide I used is not there any more, I suspect that there are much easier ways these days):-

www.xbox-scene.com

With hindsite I would go down the mod chip route as it saves a great deal of hassle, and the chance of wrecking your xbox doing the savegame bios flash are very high indeed. If you have reasonable soldering skills then it is certainly possible to fit the chip yourself rather than buy an xbox pre-modded.

After much soldering and resoldering of tiny contacts on the motherboard, I finally managed to flash the bios with an Evox bios which allowed me to install Xbox Media Player (XBMP) see www.xboxmediaplayer.de