1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox and Sharp LCD

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by tarz4n, Feb 19, 2005.

  1. tarz4n

    tarz4n
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello!

    Just got my Sharp LC32GA4E, and have some questions about about connecting a xbox.. What is the best way to do this?

    I currently use a advanced RGB cable, hooked up to one of the RGB scart inputs, and it looks.. very bad :-( It's like.. the lines in a game are not linear, but are fuzzy (hard to explain) What do you all do ?
     
  2. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Chip the Xbox and get the Hi Def pack to run the Xbox in 720 or 1080 Progressive Scan.

    Yes, it is midnight on Saturday night. TV is crap !
     
  3. virtualinsanity

    virtualinsanity
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Stockport, Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry, but never mind your xbox - where did you get your LC32GA4E from?

    i have spent 2 days solid on the phone and t'internet trying to get one :mad:
     
  4. imh

    imh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can almost hear the queue of people forming to hear the answer... I've been looking for a LC37 for a few weeks.
     
  5. tarz4n

    tarz4n
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I live i Denmark, and Germany is pretty close.. Take a look at this link (german) I got mine a week after i ordered: German pricewatch: http://www.idealo.de/preisvergleich/OffersOfProduct/252990.html

    Got mine here: http://www.technikdirekt.de/main/page.xp?SESSIONID=A/E165BAEQ8JRQFGARCZPV&DS=2&TS=2002031250

    About the xbox, i took a look at Ling-san's FAQ site: http://www.lik-sang.com/faq.php?bro...D=22320b019ba5252454aa5ee6c289f0ef#answer3234


    It says in the FAQ: Is component video better than RBG scart?

    No, component video is the same with RGB scart in term of quality. They are basicly the same, just that component cables come in phono-style plugs compared to SCART.
     
  6. McE

    McE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Luzern, Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +8
    that's totally nonsense what liksang is telling you there....

    1. the component picture is way sharper (almost to sharp for me = jaggies)
    2. HDTV and prog. scan are only possible with component (NTSC Xbox not PAL)

    There is a big difference between the two signals (got both cables here)

    BUT I had two 32GD1E and one 32GA4E and all of them suffered from shadowing and blooming on reds via component. My 37GA4E doesn't...
     
  7. tarz4n

    tarz4n
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi again,

    Does this mean, that the RGB inputs on the sharp are realy bad? I was kinda hopping i could use the comp. inputs for my DVD-player, and a RGB for Xbox - why does it look so ugly?
     
  8. hoyin

    hoyin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    nothing to do with the Sharp.

    Basically Component outputs is better quality than RGB. RGB out from the Xbox is horrible!
     
  9. tarz4n

    tarz4n
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm, sounds strange.. It looked _perfect_ on my old CRT screen :( Just looks realy crap on the sharp.
     
  10. Yaka

    Yaka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,664
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +110
    how quickly do they deliver to the uk?
     
  11. Ultim8Fury

    Ultim8Fury
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your old CRT would have blurred the image slightly due to adjacent pixels being excited by the electron gun. Obviously that won't happen on an LCD. Games consoles at the minute don't include anti-aliasing as there is no need when most of the market use CRTs to display images which will do the work for them.


    You really want to use the component lead and chip the xbox, switch it to NTSC and enable HD output. Most games only support 480p but I believe there are some that support 720p ( I could be wrong about this though ). It makes one hell of a difference.
     
  12. Yaka

    Yaka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,664
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +110
    yes some support 720p on xbox and there are only 2 that do 1080i atari anthology and dragons lair
     

Share This Page

Loading...