1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xbox and high def pack

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by slingshot, Oct 12, 2004.

  1. slingshot

    slingshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    Couldn't find a straight answer when searching, I've just bought an XBox and will the high def component cable work OK (without hi-def I know) without getting the xbox chipped.

    I will eventually get it chipped but not at the moment so I'd still like a component connection.

    Cheers

    Slingshot
     
  2. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,515
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,313
    Yes it will work. Mine does.
     
  3. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    You'll get a componant signal, but not Progressive Scan, untill you get your xbox chipped.

    fluffyyoda @ hotmail.com He's done 100's of xboxes before, send him an email.
     
  4. MarTTy

    MarTTy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the official hi-def kit and before I got my xbox chipped the colours were all washed-out even when using component out...when you get it chipped the difference is amazing, the colours and the general picture are more vibrant. I used to have the lights turned off to play games on my AE100, but now i'm chipped I can leave the lights on! :blush:
     
  5. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    Can I ask a dumb question. If I had my xbox modded either via a chip or a softmod and then had the a set of component video cables from Monster Cables, would they give me hi def or do I need to get a Micrsoft Hi-Def kit?
     
  6. slingshot

    slingshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    My mates being doing them, but he's got a bit of a backlog and Mines a new Xbox which aparantly is a bit more difficult.
     
  7. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    You still need a high defintion pack.

    www.playasia.com > Xbox > Cables > Controllers

    If you want a reliable guy to do it for you, then that email address is the way forward.
     
  8. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    I still dont get it. Why do I need the Microsoft Hi-Def kit? What does this cable do that my MonsterCable GameLink™ 400 X wont do?
    Looking at the manual for the MS cable it provides a 3 cable conponent Y, Pr, PB signal which is just the same as the Monster Cable.

    I understand that I will not get HiDef out from the Xbox unless it's a US box or one that has a modchip or soft mod.
     
  9. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    I wasn't aware Monster did componant leads for high definition. Can you show us a few links? With price etc?

    Does it have optical out for 5.1 sound too?
     
  10. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    Hi Chaps

    toward the bottom of this page you will see the monster cables.

    http://www.x10.com/home/offer.cgi?!DFEED,../bizratedf2.htm?>44080

    Tone
     
  11. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Nothing there for me boss.
     
  12. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    monster do make them i know that.
    I know that most people who have them say they are better than the MS pack but to be honest it makes so little difference I think it is their imagination.
    Chris
     
  13. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    If I use a HI-DEF cable from M/S will I get 5.1 Surround sound ,or will it just be the picture that improves?
     
  14. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    Here is the link, http://www.monstercable.com/monstergame/xbox
    I currently use the s-video version for both the PS/2 and Xbox and these are very good quality cables. I had them shipped via a family member in the US, they cost about $45 each.
     
  15. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    the moster ones do cost a bit more but they are superb.
    You will normally get 5.1 surround sound if you get a high definition pack. So the sound is much much improved - however you need an amp/set of speakers which can handle optical in.
     
  16. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    But can I use the Monster Cable to get HiDef from a modded xbox?
     
  17. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    Of course. Almost any cable that outputs component can be used for high def, its just a question of the quality you want from the cable.
     
  18. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    By M/S I meant Microsoft sorry if I confused anyone!!.......Jim
     
  19. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +4,812
  20. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,931
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,617
    The first one is the official MS pack , Component out , stereo out and optical out for DD. Comes with seperate component cable cable to go from it to TV input . Appart from an opt cable and soft/chip mod , etc .Thats all you need.
    You can substitute the Component Cable for a better/longer one if required :smashin:
     
  21. LiquidTV

    LiquidTV
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +1
  22. thebigkung

    thebigkung
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know if this will help but here is what I get using the Hi def kit on my Plasma which is Hidef compatible.

    The the HiDef pack connected to the xbox and xbox set to Pal.

    Option to run Pal 50 (xbox setting 'no' pal 60) or Pal 60.

    Running Pal 50 and Pal game Display sets to 625i (575i)
    Running Pal 60 and Pal game Display sets to 525i (480i)

    Running Pal 50 and NTSC game Display sets to 625i (575i)
    Running Pal 50 and NTSC game Display sets to 525i (480i)

    The the HiDef pack connected to the xbox and xbox set to NTSC with
    480p, 720p and 1080i options set to Yes

    Running Pal game Display sets to 525p (480p)
    Running NTSC game Display sets to 525p (480p)

    Running NTSC game that is 720p compatible Display sets to 750p (720p)
    Running NTSC game that is 1080i compatible Display sets to 1125i (1080i)

    Hi res games used. Soul Calibur II - Fantastic quality graphics at 720p, but it does not run in widescreen.

    Dragons Lair 3D - Crap game - Super Hi res 1080i

    True Crimes - Streets of LA - Fantastic graphics in 720p but driving seems slower.

    Syberia - Again superb graphics at 720p but screen is shrunk. Cut sceens are full screen but lower res.

    Pal games used. Outrun2, Dance uk.

    All pictures when run in NTSC mode were noticeably better than when the xbox was set to Pal.

    Have fun

    thebigkung
     

Share This Page

Loading...