1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XBox Advice needed!

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by kismet110, Feb 10, 2005.

  1. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    Hi

    I hope some friendly soul on here can point me in the right direction BEFORE I part with my money ;)

    Am interested in buying an XBox, have some questions though:

    a) I have a Hitachi 42" Plasma screen with two component inputs and one S-Video input (RGB SCART used up by NTL Digibox), what type of cable is supplied with the console as standard?

    b) What connectivity options does it support if the supplied one is not the best from a quality of picture/sound viewpoint?

    c) Read with interest about boxes that have been modded; aside from a potential problem when connecting to XBox Live & warranty issues are there any other negatives in purchasing one of these?

    d) Which is the best place to purchase (price/customer service etc.)?

    Really hope someone can help, apologies if these have been answered elsewhere :suicide:

    ALI
     
  2. david 4 fingers

    david 4 fingers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
  3. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    Hi Davidsti

    Thanks for the info, had a look at the site, looks the ideal place for me!

    One more question please; they sell an RGB SCART Lead but if I were to get an hd kit would that have different connectivity options (like Component or DVI)? As mentioned the solitary RGB scart on the plasma is currently taken up so I'd have to get a SCART Switch box as it currently stands, hence my hd kit query.

    Thanks again.

    ALI
     
  4. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,981
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,122
    The HD Kit connects via component and to use it you need your box modded (or an NTSC Box) with the Enigma Video Switcher installed on it. Basically that allows you to switch the box to NTSC from PAL so that you can output Hi Def via the pack. You then just select the resolutions that you wish to output (480p, 720p, 1080i) in M$ Dash and you're away!

    This is by far the best option for the X-Box for TV's that support it (such as your plasma).
     
  5. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    Thanks for the info gthom3, much appreciated as it'll save me time/stress/hassle when trying to find the right kit.

    One last question if I may; how much should I be looking to pay for a modded XBox with this Video Switcher installed and the HD Kit?

    Thanks again.

    ALI
     
  6. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,981
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,122
    The X-Box should gost you around £95, the chip around £40 (including installation) and the software is free to download and if you download the Slayer 2.6 disc then that contains everything you need (including the video switcher) check this forum for further assistance. :thumbsup: My HD kit was about £20 inc postage from here
     
  7. DaveC

    DaveC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +53
    Does your plasma have a hdmi or dvi input?

    if you can wait till november you could get an XBOX2 which will output hi-def digital over HDMI as standard....save you some cash (well maybe not if they launch for £500)?

    http://www.gamesindustry.biz/content_page.php?aid=6766
     
  8. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    gthom3 - thanks for the great advice, cheaper than I thought it'd be :clap:

    DaveC - My plasma screen has dvi input, I assume this is OK for the HD Kit?

    Regards Xbox2, might be worth waiting but as you say, if it costs the earth then maybe not :eek:

    Thanks again all for your help.

    ALI
     
  9. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,981
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,122
    No probs Kismet :thumbsup:

    The X-Box Hi Def kit can only connect via component (not DVI or HDMI) unfortunately. You can buy cheap (about £10) component switches though that allow you to connect 2 items via component (asuming that your amp doesn't have component switching). I have one and the quality is great! :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...