Xbox 360

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Drogo, Nov 7, 2005.

  1. Drogo

    Drogo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    English Riviera
    Ratings:
    +1
    Guys,

    What would be the best way to connect the new Xbox 360 to my Panasonic 42" Plasma, as currently I run everything through a switch box on SVHS to save cabling .... but that said I do want the Xbox 360 to be displayed as good as possible...

    I have SVHS, composite and VGA available, or should I go out and buy a component board?

    Cheers
     
  2. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    which panny do you have? if it is an 8 series (or pre 7 series) you can get a vga cable for the 360 otherwise you would be better to get a compent board
     
  3. UKseless1

    UKseless1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +36
    MEP from another post it looks like he's had the screen for a coupla years. Would that make it a 4 or a 5?
     
  4. Drogo

    Drogo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    English Riviera
    Ratings:
    +1
    Guys its a series 6 screen PWD6 ... 42" ... Silver frame ... it has VGA .. so would that be my best option, and wait say a year or so before I spend out on HD screen??

    Thanks in advance guys
     
  5. UKseless1

    UKseless1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +36
    Yes 6 series will accept component over VGA and it's a lovely screen. I'd wait for more than a year before replacing it. Wait until there is plenty of HD content available and save your pennies in the mean time. If you wait long enough you might be able to afford a next gen 50" HD model.
     
  6. Carlos13

    Carlos13
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a PV500 and am wondering what is best. I plan to get Sky HD so that and the DVD player will use up the Component and HDMI sockets (unless I get a switch). What will provide the better picture through the 360, Component or VGA?
     
  7. orange66

    orange66
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I asked the same thing.

    thread
     
  8. Jim_Fear

    Jim_Fear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +59
    The question you need to ask is will MS release a component over VGA cable or will you have to buy a few extra bits or bobs, i'm yet to hear anything on this front so if anyone has any news that'd be sehr gut!
     

Share This Page

Loading...