1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XBox 360 Wi-Fi or Wi-Fi Ready?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Turl2, Sep 29, 2005.

  1. Turl2

    Turl2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've noticed that there is an optional wi-fi adapter for the 360 and that the spec says wi-fi ready?. Does anyone know if the adapter is needed for the fully loaded package or just the core system?.

    If the console is only wi-fi ready I need to get one ordered :rolleyes: .

    Cheers,

    Turl
     
  2. holtehero

    holtehero
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +1,783
    Think you need to buy the adaptor for both the premium and core packages

    However, if you already have a wireless bridge you could plug that into the ethernet port
     
  3. chrislad

    chrislad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Rep. of Ireland
    Ratings:
    +141
    If you want your Xbox to be wireless, you have to buy the adapter. You can plug in via ethernet straight away, but the wireless will cost an extra 40quid. Which is extracting the urine really, as I have to get that.
     
  4. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    Chris - what do you want for your £280? adding in wifi would just bump the cost up even more. i've already got a bridge for my xbox (as do many other people) so i dont want to pay more than i need too.


    Gary
     
  5. VILLAn66

    VILLAn66
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +8
    Does anyone know if the Netgear WGE111 wireless adapter that I have on order for my PS2 will be compatible with the 360?

    Cheers
     
  6. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,401
    In theory it should be as network protocols are standard. I bought one recently for 40 quid second hand although it was still shrink wrapped and brand new. At the moment I use the MS MN-740 wireless Xbox adapter I bought from the US with my Xbox. I imagine they should both work with the 360.
     
  7. Corpsical

    Corpsical
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +76
    Remember that the Wireless adapter for the 360 is a/b/g complient, most currently available adapters are just b/g complient, (apparantly the 'a' is need for HD Media streaming), and as far as I'm aware there has been no statement saying that any of those would be okay to use with the 360.

    We DO know that accessories need to be certified to use with the 360, maybe that will be the same for the network adapters too.

    Have mine pre-ordered from Play (but never had one for the current XBox) so its no 'loss' to me, maybe we'll find out more info from X05.
     
  8. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    I think wifi and online gamming is a poor substitute to be honest.

    Many others I know think the same. Building it into the box costs a load of extra cash and major added complexity in setup / configuration / support
    (See continuing issues with PSP)

    Bottom line xbox 360 is said to be up to $100 a unit less to MANUFACTURE than the PS 3. Only time will tell.

    Lets be honest thats alot how many people actually want to use Wifi on a console ? Not me I certainly dont want to pay for something I wont be using and delivers a sub standard gamming experience.
     
  9. VILLAn66

    VILLAn66
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +8
    BUMP /\

    Does anyone have anymore info on the compatibility (or not) of third party gaming adapters on the 360. I've just bought a Netgear one (for the PS2) and don't want to have to shell out again!

    Any thoughts?
     
  10. neil c

    neil c
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    All wireless/wired connections will work just as they do with the current Xbox. Wireless adaptors don't need to be certified, neither will network cables/routers/switches as they aren't exclusively for the Xbox console.

    HarrisUK wireless connectivity isnt just about online gaming (which I think is the best part of Xbox). Many people will use the 360 as a hub for connecting media to their TV and hi-fi. Please tell me that you can see the benefits of a wireless connection in this scenario.

    You seem to think that no one is interested in a wireless console, so why would you need to worry about the added setup complexity if no one is going to use the feature?

    And what are wifi & online gaming supposed to be a poor substitute for?
     
  11. steveyg20

    steveyg20
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Disagree with this completely - I am typing on my Apple iBook and it naturally has Wifi built in - While I am not angered at having to pay more, what annoys me is that this next gen console will still have need a stupid looking piece of cack plugged in and sticking out of it to make it wireless, rubbish to that, it should be integrated. Oh, and to counter your price argument, take a look at the Mac Mini. :rolleyes:

    [MOD EDIT - swear words removed and replaced with non swear words - please refrain from sewearing on the forum as it is a public place frequented by people of all ages.]
     
  12. JayList

    JayList
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it has an ethernet port it should be compatible. I presume it's a standard ethernet jack into the PS2?
     
  13. JayList

    JayList
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the PS3 have in built wireless? I don't know.

    YOu have to think though that consoles are sold at a LOSS. Money is not made on the consoles, 90% is made on games and dev kits etc, the rest on peripherals.

    "It is estimated that Microsoft suffered losses of approximately $4 billion on the first Xbox video games console - a situation that the company seems poised to remedy with the next generation Xbox 360 console.

    Microsoft intends to break even on the Xbox 360 within the first year or two of the console’s 6-7 year life cycle. In contrast with the first Xbox, which was manufactured using off-the-shelf components from Nvidia and Intel, Microsoft owns the intellectual property inside the Xbox 360 console.

    This gives the software giant greater control over price, since it can shop around for chip manufacturers and reduce costs as technology advances. Analysts have also estimated that the Xbox 360 is approximately $100 cheaper to manufacture than the Sony Playstation 3, giving Microsoft more leeway in pricing decisions."

    I bet at £220 it's a breakeven price, or a very slight profit on hardware.

    As the initiall R&D gets amortised over the lifecycle and compment charges reduce with volume and manufacturing improvments MS will get scope to reduce prices. Not necessarily increase profit on the HARDWARE side.

    They make lots of money from selling the dev kits for games, and percentage royaltys of games sold and distribution rights etc.

    Same with Sony.

    Where MS are interested is owning the OS , the Xbox 360 is just about extending the dominance of the MS platform and more importantly preventing Sony from pitching a rival media OS.

    Bearing in mind that these form an important part of the media center for a household.
     
  14. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,582
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,365
    But how many people have a wireless network in their home? Even those who are buying a 360, it's the vast minority who will be using this option IMHO. Why should the majority pay extra for a feature that only the minority will use? It's absolutely the right thing to sell as an accessory. And does this look like a "stupid piece of cack" to you?

    [​IMG]

    It's unintrusive, plugs in round the back and very small. Overpriced, granted; but still very nice.

    [mod edit - swearing removed from original quote as per above post]
     
  15. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,401
    I have to agree with that. Besides MS is already going to be making a loss on every 360 sold, having integrated wi-fi capabilities is only going to add to that. The anallergy (SP?) of the Mac Mini doesn't make sense as it cost more then a 360 and Apple isn't making a loss on it.
     
  16. Sting King

    Sting King
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +6
    Is it possible to use my existing netgear wge111 wireless bridge for both the xbox (running XBMC) and the 360, with some sort of ethernet splitter?? (If they exist).

    Obviously I can only use one machine at a time in my living room.

    Cheers
     
  17. JayList

    JayList
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    analogy. :lesson: :p
     
  18. JayList

    JayList
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    With only one Ethernet port it's going to be tough. You may get a splitter but theres no guarantee it will pick up which is broadcasting.

    I think you can buy them , but may get some funcky results, you would probably have to turn of the router and restart every time you switched.

    Is it worth it?

    J
     
  19. Sting King

    Sting King
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +6
    Jaylist,

    The modded xbox sits in my living room connected to the wge111, which is used for XBMC, I have a unmodded xbox situated upstairs which is hard wired to my router. I often bring the 'Live' Xbox downstairs to play on my HDTV, all I do is swap the ethernet cable over from xbox to xbox, no resetting of the router is needed. Therefore I presumed I could do the same with the 360??
    Swapping the cables over would be a pain in the arse when I have the 360 and modded xbox sitting neatly in a cabinet.
    If neccessary I will buy another wireless bridge, I have seen a ethernet hub on ebay, would this do the trick??

    Only one machine would be switched on at any one time, I think this would be the same as what I currently do cable swapping just introducing the automation of the hub??

    Am I right??
     
  20. steveyg20

    steveyg20
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't see the need for an 'aerial' - As I said the price is not an issue, I would happily pay extra, and I would happily pay for an accessory that slots into a trap door and is not visible - As it stands I am afraid the little aerial might be a bit of an annoyance, and more easily broken if you are moving the X-box around - A very last gen move from the progressive Microsoft team.
     
  21. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,401
    What you need is a switch. Four ports is the smallest they come.
     
  22. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,401
    :oops: Thanks. :blush:
     
  23. dodger747

    dodger747
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,955
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +209
    Unless you're Nintendo :smashin:
     
  24. Member 55145

    Member 55145
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,489
    hey your a mac user, so it says it all really, your used to paying thru the nose for everything and being bundled with tonnes of stuff you dont need :rolleyes:
     
  25. steveyg20

    steveyg20
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that. :devil:
     
  26. petjeffery

    petjeffery
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i feel this is silly the ps3 has it built in and even the cheap wii has it built in i would think it in the interst of the 360 to keep up with the times also thay charging you £40 FOR THE ADTER when these day you get one for about £15 it is mad i do feel like ive been taken for a ride

    ALSO WITH THE PS3 ITS FREE TO GO ONLINE AS WELL WERE AS WITH THE XBOX360 YOU HAVE TP PAY PER YEAR WHAT A JOKE :smashin::thumbsdow:(
     
  27. DongaTon

    DongaTon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Greenock, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +297
    First post.

    4 (FOUR) year old thread.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 19, 2009
  28. petjeffery

    petjeffery
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0


    i dont even have a playstation i was reading the post i really dont care how old the post is because ok it 4 years old and thay still not added a built in one
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 19, 2009
  29. delucep

    delucep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +984
    Think you're looking for the PS3 section (fanboy), 4 year old thread, very poor wind-up.

    :hiya:
     
  30. DongaTon

    DongaTon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Greenock, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +297
    Ok then.

    Because wireless is crap and wired is better, and Microsoft realise this.

    Ok?
     

Share This Page

Loading...