Xbox 360 VGA Mode for those without a HDTV

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by meansizzler, Nov 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    OK ,read somewhere officialy the two VGA modes supported by the Xbox 360 are 1024*768 and 1920*1080, so I guess that will make everyone happy, a mode for both full screen and widescreen gamers, so those with a Dell 2405 should not have to worry.., at least those who do not have a HDTV can use there PC Display for Hi-Def Gaming, I got a 15" TFT with a native res of 1024*768 so I guess i'm sorted till I have enough money for a bigger display...
     
  2. Batch

    Batch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    University: Lancaster, Home: Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +200
    I was kinda hoping for 1280 X 1024, but oh well - 1024 x 768 will do :)
     
  3. PioRow

    PioRow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    That isnt a 16:9 display format, its 4:3. That sucks big time. The 360 should be able to output numerous resolutions, its powerfull enough.
     
  4. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    The info I saw was a German slide-show presentation from... somewhere on the web. Can't remember exactly I'm afraid. But, dusting off the part of my brain labelled "GCSE German", I thought it read,

    "Resolutions available from 1024x768 through to 1920x1080", implying more resolutions to choose from.

    Could be wrong, so I apologise if I am!
     
  5. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    The 360 will output widescreen - however I think the point was that a 4:3 hi-res image on a decent PC TFT via VGA will be better (or more suitable) for some than on an old CRT.... (anyone work out what I'll be using to begin with too..!!)
     
  6. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    he has it right i posted the slide show presentation on this forum. it did mention more resoutions than the two stated above. would be totally idiotic of them not to allow 1280x720 over VGA for a start
     
  7. Henders

    Henders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Found this picture on another forum:

    Link
     
  8. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +31
    Thats what I thought.........and thats also why I pre-ordered my 360 with the VGA cable to plug directly into my Panny 6 series.

    I just hope my hunch was correct :rolleyes:
     
  9. MrHat

    MrHat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    well thats wrong for a start,, since 720p =1204x720 (768-960 for 4:3) res,, so i dont see why 1024x768 is actually a supported resolution for Vga, that would be Downscaling to less than the xbox's supposedly standard of 720p if so..
     
  10. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,963
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,475
    Er, actually 720p is 1280x720, and 1024x768 is a standard VGA resolution. Look at your possible desktop resolutions on your PC if you don't believe me... The 360 will downscale to lower resolutions if you wish it to, and fully supports 4:3 resolutions, so I'd imagine 1024x768 being supported.
     
  11. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +850
    I wonder if it will support 1280x800 res?
     
  12. Waynej

    Waynej
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,444
    nice one, was hoping for the 4:3 HD support for PC monitors. 1024 x 768, which is the resolution I'm currently running in, should be good to get that HD clarity until I can afford a proper HD display.

    Just a quick question though, in my bedroom I have a 26" 4:3 CRT TV(which Xbox is on) and I'v got my PC with 19" Dell CRT monitor... Is it really worth going the VGA route for the onitor and hetting 1024x768... will I notice a big difference, or shall I stick with my TV as its 7"'s bigger?
     
  13. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    :laugh: ok mate :lesson: as Mr Munkey pointed out in fact you are wrong, 720p is 1280x720, and 1080i is 1920x1080. ive never even heard of a 1204x720 resolution at all so you have picked that one out of the clouds.
     
  14. drskhaled

    drskhaled
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +108
    Yes there'll be a difference, generally you'll be sitting closer to your monitor so youll be able to appreciate the detail. Try sitting up close to your 26" tv and you might not like it. So the difference in screen size IMO is easily made up for by the detail visible on a monitor.
     
  15. Waynej

    Waynej
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,444
    Yeah, sounds good. At least I can get some sort of HD experience in my bedroom as thats primarily where most of my gaming is done, then when everyone out the house and not watching the usual crappy soaps I can move downstairs to the 32" Widescreen Toshiba CRT, just means I gotta get the RGB scart, no way am I even touching the composite.
     
  16. tjradiohead

    tjradiohead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    1024*768 sounds good to me, 1:1 on my phd8.
     
  17. DanH

    DanH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +56
    Wont that be stretched though? 1024x768 maybe the native res on the panny but it uses non square pixels. You would be better off with 720p i think. (Downscaled slightly but it will be the correct aspect ratio)
     
  18. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    correct the PHD8 uses rectangular pixels from what i remember and 1024x768 is definatly 4:3. as dan suggests 720p will be your best bet
     
  19. Batch

    Batch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    University: Lancaster, Home: Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +200
    My mnitor has a native resolution of 1280 x 1024, what xbox 360 resoulution would be best for me?

    Thanks

    Batch
     
  20. Eiji

    Eiji
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +70
    Strange but that slide seems to be missing 1280x1024 which I saw on another slide similiar to that one unless it was Photoshopped.
     
  21. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    it may output 1280x1024 so that Res if it does. if not then probably 1024x768 is the next one down that will be supported
     
  22. Batch

    Batch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    University: Lancaster, Home: Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +200
    ^^ Thanks Koptite
     
  23. leeb

    leeb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    880
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Melton Mowbray
    Ratings:
    +52
    Looks ok to me! :thumbsup:

    [​IMG]
     
  24. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    dont know why but it looks photoshopped to me for some reason. even though there is a 360 there :laugh: maybe my eyes are going funny
     
  25. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,056
  26. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    excellent i always had a feeling most of the common res's would be supported. whats really suprising to me is that 1920x1080 is not listed as applicable to VGA but it is over component :confused:

    oh well i will also purchase a VGA cable to plug into Pc monitor for when i feel like a mini session :thumbsup:
     
  27. Batch

    Batch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    University: Lancaster, Home: Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +200
    YAY! 1280 x 1024 :)
     
  28. Eiji

    Eiji
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +70
    Thats the one I saw :thumbsup:
     
  29. PioRow

    PioRow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    849
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    That sceen shot is exactly what I want to see and what I expected. It seesm if you use the 360 vga cable you will be able to output and a number of different resolutions both in 4:3 and 16:9.

    The 360 is officiall the nuts!!!
     
  30. bad robot

    bad robot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +349
    I dont see how 1920x1080 will be used or much benifit as currently there are very few 1920x1080 native panels. As we know most games have been stated to be 720p. 1360x768 is only a minor adjustment/scaling as is 1280x1024. Its good to see the ability to allow native display 1:1 on pretty much any display going even many Plasma/LCD HDTVs that use a 1360x768 panels resolution via VGA. However some owners of these still may find they actually need to set 1280x720 as many of these displays wont actually work via VGA in native resolution.

    Another thing 1080i isnt a VGA standard its a HDTV standard so i dont expect to see it in a VGA menu. Im not saying the machine cant support 1080i, possibly the dashboard can be displayed in 1080i and we know some games will support it. If however this was going to be an option wouldnt it be in a HDTV / Component menu, and even so i see little benifit of displaying 1080i compared to 720p it wont improve the jaggies the games etc are mainly going to be 1280x720 so this scaling is mainly for quality imagary and device compliance meeting the majority of PC and HDTV resolutions and shouldnt be looked at like PCs and the way the extra resolutions improve the visuals/jaggies. Even if 1920x1080 is possible it wont make a 1280x720 game 1920x1080, in the way a PC shows major benifits because scaling is entirly different to independent resolutions. Its great though once again to see alot of thought has been put into this machine.

    Personally i applaud the work involved in this machine and the development seems to be on the ground unlike Sonys PR BS wagon with talk of dual 1080p being possible and now the latest 120 FPS. Microsoft at least are keeping it real and not talking fantasy, really i think Sony need a reality check.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...