XBOX 360 Update Causes Chaos?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Pebb, Mar 17, 2006.

  1. Pebb

    Pebb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +829
    Source: CVG

    XBOX 360 UPDATE CAUSES CHAOS?

    Distraught gamers report a string of crashing Xbox 360s after the mandatory Xbox Live update earlier this week


    A large number of irate gamers are reporting repeated crashes on their Xbox 360s, caused by downloading a mandatory Xbox Live update earlier this week.

    Problems occurring since the update range from occasional crashes to extreme cases where consoles have been left virtually unusable, and mailing them back to Microsoft has been the only viable solution. "The update killed my 360. Plain and simple," posted one user on the Official Xbox Forums.

    Worryingly, a more serious problem is reportedly being caused by the update. Some users are experiencing crashes when playing Ubisoft's recently released Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter online, which subsequently screws their Xbox 360 consoles with permanent crashes across all games, and even the dashboard.

    "The Game froze a few minutes after play," posted a user on the Official Xbox Forums, "The freezing is not just a still image, but more of a haywire fuzz and high pitched sound over the still image. Now, upon reboot, the green power button will start to flash red and will take quite a number of reboots before it fully powers up. This is only temporary, because sure enough, it will freeze within 2 minutes."

    Past Xbox Live updates have caused isolated issues, but so far this week's update has caused the most wide-spread outbreak of problems for 360 owners, who filled forums with cries for help within hours of the update going live.

    Both Ubisoft and Microsoft were unavailable for comment on the crashing disasters at time of press, although Microsoft is reportedly looking into the problem.
     
  2. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    24,532
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +11,933
    Oh dear. That sounds pretty poor. I wonder if the dumbasses that produce the patches for BF2 have had a hand in this. They seem to know how to screw a perfectly good thing up.

    Relieved that I don't have live yet reading that.
     
  3. MonkeyKnuckle

    MonkeyKnuckle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +718
    yeah i have read about more crashes, espically with the launch consoles.

    mine is ok at the moment. (touch wood)

    now we need updates to fix updates:rolleyes:
     
  4. stevemac2006

    stevemac2006
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Trouble is you can't roll back like a PC so your only choice is to RMA
     
  5. m1ket

    m1ket
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +332
    so what is meant by'A large number ' are we talking 100, 1000, 100000 or 1000000?

    its just that the internet has a habbit of highlight the problems of a few i have 60 people on my firnds list noone has mentioned any issues after the update
     
  6. Pebb

    Pebb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +829
    I think they deleted a part of the code in the update by mistake or deleted a file in the update by mistake. And I bet they said this before bringing the last update out: "Well a way to cut down the size of the update is if we remove this file or code, and fellow MS team it will not mess anyones 360 up."
     
  7. Steve-L

    Steve-L
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +149
    Sounds pretty much like what happened to mine, except it only started acting up on Wednesday and I had applied the update last week IIRC ?
     
  8. Pebb

    Pebb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +829
    I have had no problems with any of the updates. Maybe the update did not fully download for some or got affected while downloading.

    Packets do get lost or do not work fully when downloading sometimes.
     
  9. Epicurus

    Epicurus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +696
    I do wonder if part of the problem is delivery.

    Xbox360 has gone out to so many people already, and Live is an integral part of this. Do Microsoft have the infrastructure in place to effectively and reliably distribute these patches? Are people being screwed because their own ISPs give some small packetloss which translates to erroneous patches?

    Im more inclined to think it's something liek that than a bad patch itself.
     
  10. Pebb

    Pebb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +829
    Downloads will always have chances of getting affected or not fully downloading. Its like delivery in real life, staff will get broken for some people.

    Maybe Microsoft should show more when it is downloading, or allow people to re download updates and get them reinstalled through live. But when ever I download something through live, I always make sure nothing is downloading on my PC.
     
  11. Steve-L

    Steve-L
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +149
    I think Microsoft are probably one of these few companies that most certainly does have the infrastructure to do just this... just think how many millions of PC's access the windows update servers every day!

    There should be error checking in place to deal with exactly that sort of problem. The update shouldn't be started until the integrity of the downloaded file has been verified...
     
  12. dllord

    dllord
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,054
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +30
    My mates 360 crashed after this update! He's on his 3rd 360 now!:eek:
     
  13. Pebb

    Pebb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +829
    You got to remember this, Microsoft don't know the meaning or bugs aswell as crashes lol.
     
  14. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,919
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +9,373
    I had a freeze up on GRAW earlier tonight, only time I've ever had a problem. Switched it off and back on and it was fine after that. I damn well hope it's not a sign of things to come, especially with Oblivion imminent!
     
  15. Steve-L

    Steve-L
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +149
    Mine started with GRAW freezing with a black screen... but it would henceforth do this every time I tried to play it, within 1 or 2 minutes of starting a level...
     
  16. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,919
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +9,373
    Mine froze with the normal graphics on screen, no artefacts or anything. Came back on fine after switching off and on, made me nervous now though, not sure whether to play GRAW now! Think I'll try RR6 tomorrow for a bit and see if that behaves itself
     
  17. Razor

    Razor
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,727
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,503
    I had to return my 360 for another a few days ago, it ws acting the same as described in OP's extract.

    360 number 2 now. At least I now know what the problem was. Poor show if you ask me. :(

    The only good thing was Game swapped it there and then. :)
     
  18. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,919
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +9,373
    But if you get a new one and it then downloads the march update won't it potentially cause the same problems?
     
  19. dino2021

    dino2021
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +138
    As described played ok with other games after update then chuck in GRAW and the above happens

    Had to take it back to Argos for a replacement

    This what happend with you Razor?
     
  20. branny

    branny
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Pie Land
    Ratings:
    +275
    Already on box no' 2. However, dont remember getting an update in the last couple of weeks.:eek:

    However, did have a freeze tonight on FN3. TBH, I hope it blows up on or around 28th Dec 06 so I can exchange anyway!

    Branny
     
  21. Uranus

    Uranus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunny Jaywick
    Ratings:
    +15
    They also put the updates on the game discs now, So even if you don't have live you will have to update sooner or later when you buy a game with the update on it.:thumbsdow

    I'm sure my brother said his was updated from ghost recon and mine was updated through xbox live. Now we are both having problems with lockups on games.:mad: So far i've had it on fight night 3, burnout revenge and worst of all on condemned which is now unplayable due to constant crashes. I just hope they release a fixed update soon to fix this shambles...
     
  22. Epicurus

    Epicurus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +696
    Hmm everyone seems to be saying it happens first with GRAW. Coincidence?
     
  23. Northerner76

    Northerner76
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    926
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wells, Somerset
    Ratings:
    +26
    Exactly - each packet/collection of packets will most likely have a CRC checksum element to ensure the integrity of the data... its therefore less likely that packet loss would affect the viability of the update.
    I have the update and my 360 runs fine *touch wood* - I would imagine the numbers of affected people are a relatively small percentage of the installed user base...

     
  24. Steve-L

    Steve-L
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +149
    Well as soon as I booted up my new one and connected to live it downloaded the update again, you can't get around it as it simply won't let you stay connected to Live without it... so far so good though, but I haven't really played GRAW much on it yet... :rolleyes:
     
  25. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,919
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +9,373
    Think I'm gonna give mine a good test this weekend cos if it's gonna break I want it to happen sooner rather than later as I'd like a replacement for when Oblivion comes out!
     
  26. Steve-L

    Steve-L
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +149
    If you want to give it a good test, just leave it running GRAW, and pause it before you go to bed... if it is still working the following evening you've probably got a good one! :smashin: :rotfl:
     
  27. nick501

    nick501
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Walsall, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +782
    I experienced a few 'lock-ups' last night whilst playing FN3 on live. Played GRAW the night before with no probs.
     
  28. Crovon

    Crovon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    In a 4G, inverted dive, with a MIG28.
    Ratings:
    +826
    Yep mine too, but again only while playing GRAW. It just freezes mid - level.

    It did it 4 times last night :mad: thats the most Ive ever had!
    I took the disc out and gave it a good clean (spit an all :smashin: ) and it worked fine after that, did 3 levels with no lock ups although my game save completely vanished after the 4th reset and had to start from scratch :confused: . Great I thought..... then I played it again today, did one level no probs, then went to load the next and it froze. Reset console, load up again, got half way into the level and it froze. God damn it!

    I played crackdown straight after the freezing last night to test another game and it worked flawlessly, not a single freeze or anything, so it looks like its just with GRAW. My only other thing I had issue with is that it doesnt seem to be saving the crackdown update. I have put the game in on two seperate occasions and both times had to download the update before I could play.

    I hope this gets sorted out soon. :rolleyes:

    Edit:
    I just realised that this thread is from last years update!! but I am now having the same problems....anyone else out there having the freezing with GRAW?
     
  29. Bilbob

    Bilbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,587
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +294
    Lol! Was thinking to my self that this stream of problems hasn't happened....:)

    Anyway, think your problem may just be coincidental... doubt it's directly related to the update... just one of those things :(
     
  30. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    15,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,951
    Would not be too sure

    my 360 is pretty much unusable since last weeks update

    every game locks up and stops console working
     

Share This Page

Loading...