Xbox 360 & PC based Itunes.

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by pemberto, Jan 3, 2007.

  1. pemberto

    pemberto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hi All,

    I need some advice/help. I use itunes on a PC and would like to be able to play them from the Xbox 360 over my home network.

    Can someone please tell what is required to get this working, most of my music is directly riped from cd, although I do have a large number which are off Itunes.

    Thanks

    Pemberto
     
  2. lazymatt

    lazymatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Croydon
    Ratings:
    +188
    You either need MS Connect, or WMP11.

    You cannot (AFAIK) use iTunes itself. You just need to point WMP at the correct folder containing your music.
     
  3. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +442
    if your itunes music is in aac or m4a like mine your buggared as they can't be streamed.

    All my music used to be in wma from my CD's then i converted them all the m4a when i got my ipod and deleted the originals. Wish i'd kept them now can't be ****ed to insert 200+ CDs and recopy them.
     
  4. pemberto

    pemberto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    Thanks Guys,

    It's a bit crap really when you think about it. I did however come across this, http://www.nullriver.com/index/products/connect360 but it's only any good if you are running on a mac.

    Looks like I have a couple of options:
    1. Re-rip over 500 cd's to MS format.
    2. Buy the new apple iTv when it comes out
    3. Buy a mac and use Connect360 (if it works).

    pemberto
     
  5. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +442

    You got an iPod? If you have just connect that to the 360 thats what I do. Never gonna bother re burning the CD's and i've hated using WMP ever since version 8
     
  6. paulbed4d

    paulbed4d
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,625
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +47
    I have this problem too. Can the M4A format be converted to MP3 format??
     
  7. Monopot

    Monopot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    2,514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +190
    Its a shame as this Connect360 works a treat on my iMac and MacBook. Everything like iTunes, Photos and Videos streams faultlessly! Great product!
     
  8. amardilo

    amardilo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    5,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +1,745
    I didn't know anything like connect360 existed until I read it in your post and goolged it.

    Thanks Monopot
     
  9. butleri

    butleri
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    336
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +42
    (apologies if I duplicate anything above!) I use iTunes and I stream all my music to my Xbox 360 - what you need is to have all of your music in mp3 format which both iTunes AND Windows Media Player/Xbox 360 can read.

    If your music is not in mp3 format in iTunes go to Edit>Preferences>Advanced>Importing then change the format to mp3. Click OK (in future any songs you import will also be in MP3 format). Now if you right click on any song in iTunes you will have a 'Convert Selection to MP3' option - if you highlight all of your songs then right click and select this it will make an mp3 copy of ALL your library. Once this is done you will have an mp3 and original format of each song - you want to get rid of the original format so you dont have 2 of every song! Highlight all of the 'other' format songs and hit delete - you can delete the actual files to your recycle bin.

    Now you need Windows Media Player 11. Click on Library>Add to Library... now add the folder where all your music (and picture and video if you want) are stored. WMP11 will now search these folders and add all of the mp3's.
    Next click on Libray>Media Sharing (make sure you Xbox360 is turned on). Choose to share to your Xbox 360 and it is all done!! The great thing is that WMP11 will automatically check the folders for any changes and add music etc so you never need to use it again - just go back to using iTunes!
     
  10. barry_bethel

    barry_bethel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I believe aac will play on a 360, you need a patch from the Live Marketplace.

    Depending on how techie you are you could run Twonky Media to stream to it.
    http://www.twonkyvision.de/
     
  11. sotonjoe

    sotonjoe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    611
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +40
    The advice re converting aac files to mp3 is correct, except to mention that you cannot convert music purchased from the itunes store itself due to the drm (locked copyright stuff). You could always burn those files to cd and then re encode or use any of the other work arounds suggested though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...