1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox 360 media Extender Demo

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Overlord69, Oct 18, 2005.

  1. Overlord69

    Overlord69
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +55
  2. Cowden_harley

    Cowden_harley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    FIFE, SCOTLAND
    Ratings:
    +216
    ive done the rollup but is there a specific option for the 360 as ive not seen any new options regarding it in my mce.
     
  3. Scotty306

    Scotty306
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
  4. Cowden_harley

    Cowden_harley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    FIFE, SCOTLAND
    Ratings:
    +216
    thats about the cheapest place mate.
     
  5. SLIM

    SLIM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +17
    sounds to me that with a mod you may beable to send dvd's and albums over the xbox live network
     
  6. Cowden_harley

    Cowden_harley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    FIFE, SCOTLAND
    Ratings:
    +216
    wwooowaaahhh slim - bill gates has microphones in your electric sockets. He'll have heard you typing that! lol
     
  7. mal60908

    mal60908
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have windows xp pro, will I have to upgrade to MCE or can I use normal XP?
     
  8. Cowden_harley

    Cowden_harley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,711
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    FIFE, SCOTLAND
    Ratings:
    +216
    its a fresh install mate you need a fromatted hard drive. i have two hard drives one with xp pro on it and the other with mce on it i get a dual boot option.
     
  9. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,044
    I'd hang on and see what Media Connect V2 for XP lets you do. Apparantly it'll let you stream video (V1 didn't) to UPnP devices, but no specific mention of the Xbox 360.
     
  10. ant73

    ant73
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    MS have confirmed you need MCE to stream video - XP is music/pictures only
     
  11. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,372
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    good post overlord some things in the video i did not know about the MCE capablilties of the 360. seeing as its a free SW available so to speak with the machine its really handy. wont be long before the people like the guys behind XBMC crack it an allow transport of everyfile imaginable
     
  12. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,044
    link to media connect V2

    It was only posted a few days ago, and adds video support. Doesn't mean X360 will support it, but there is a slim chance.
     
  13. latinoman231982

    latinoman231982
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    SO guys i got a question. I just built my own pc with xp home.Are you telling me i need to fork out 80 quid just so that i can stream **** to my xbox 360????? If this is the case i think Microsoft taking us for a ride, i thought that was sonys job!!!!!!!!! What the F*&K!! Anyone else heard any other news, It wouldnt be fair for us unfortunate enought not to have a mce pc.Yeh sure you can by the OEM version, But if you think about it the majority people out there think they have to buy a new pc cause microsoft have led them to believe this.
     
  14. spanna

    spanna
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +545
    There was an interview with J Allard on ign or gamespot or something recently and he said if Ms received enough interest then they will implement Video streaming from XP to the 360 at a later date.
    So I am hanging on as Ive just bought and installed xp pro.
    Theres no way im buying another O/s.
     
  15. Gary D

    Gary D
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +838
    Bring it on :D


    Gary
     
  16. superjim

    superjim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know if there is any game performance drop from using MCE rather than XP Pro? I am considering the change but still want top PC game performance. Also, do I have to use nvidia's MCE Video drivers or can I get away with XP drivers?
     
  17. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    I'm a bit confused about media centre. Will I be able to use it as a PC (ie. using the net etc) or will I have to use my normal PC and transfer all my media to the media centre playing them through my xbox.
     
  18. royster

    royster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using Media Center Edition myself and I can not notice any performance difference to using a normal XP installation.
    You can use the most recent Nvidia drivers which work fine with Media Center but I would also advise you to also download the Media Center specific drivers because they also contain a setup package for some extra video extensions. These I installed seperately through opening the setup file in Winrar and extracting the extension setup files out and installing the that way.
    Good luck
     
  19. superjim

    superjim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Think I'll get a cheap HDD and put it on there and use dual boot
     
  20. milkmanchris

    milkmanchris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +82
    What about us Mac users?
     
  21. steve-o

    steve-o
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    408
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    As far as I'm aware, isnt MCE just XP Pro plus a few things bolted on? Like the MCE exe?
     
  22. BeelzebubUK

    BeelzebubUK
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +24
    It was in its first incarnation. Don't know if thats true with the latest versions though but I assume it is.
     
  23. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    Out of luck I'm afraid. It's to be expected that MS isn't going to go out of it's way to support the Mac. Obviously they rather people use Windows based PC's.
     
  24. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,100
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +663
    I'm not sure why I would particularly want to stream stuff from my pc to my 360. Can somebody explain what the appeal is. :confused:
     
  25. mal60908

    mal60908
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can get hi-def on your plasma through the 360, as there are no HD players available yet.
    You can also stream music to listen to when playing games, also viewing your pics etc, it is more sociable than everyone crammed around your pc.

    Most people probably don't need these options, but it is nice to have them there anyway.
     
  26. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    35,343
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,369
    I can't really think of any point me having MCE to be honest. My PC & 360 will both be in my games room & connected to my 720p PJ & a VGA monitor so that I can view which ever one I wish on which ever display. The only use I can see is if I had a 360 in the living room and then I could stream TV shows & movies to it from my PC.

    To be honest I think that I'm just going to use my modded X-box to store & play my movies & TV shows on for now which will leave my PC's HD a bit less cramped.

    For me the 360 will just be for games initially I feel.
     
  27. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,924
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,449
    Streaming music from you PC via your network while playing any 360 game is a pretty cool feature for me, though I doubt I'll show pics very much.
     
  28. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,100
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +663
    I perefer to listen to the ingame music when playing games tbh. I can always use my ipod if I wanted to listen to my own music on my 360, or rip cds to the HDD. As for photo's, won't the 360 play jpeg photo cds!? still, I rarely use my camara enough that I'd need to show others my pictures. On the rare occasion that I do I can just show them on a pc. As for hi-def movies etc, Blu-Ray and HD-DVD are out next year. I can wait.
     
  29. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    35,343
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +8,369
    I must say that generally i'm a sound effects man! I like to hear the sound of the engine in a racer or the roar of the crowd in a footie game! FPS's also require you to hear when there's someone near by as therefore music is generally not a good idea.
     
  30. superjim

    superjim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got MCE now and I'll be getting myself a wireless adaptor. I'm hoping to be able to stream HD video to 360. When launch day comes I'll post my findings - It'll be interesting to see how the bandwidth holds up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...