Xbox 360 Input connections, what's best for me?

Waynej

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
Right, I'd like to move my Xbox 360 from upstairs to my bedroom regulary. Now I know the x360 £279 package comes with the component HD cable, I'm not sure whether I could use that or not on a standard type composite TV or what, I doubt it, take a look below and leave your thoughts please.

Downstairs setup: 32" Widescreen Toshiba TV

I have the Xbox 1 RGB Scart Cable would that work for Xbox 360 as the connection looks the same on the back of both consoles, or would I have to buy the new Xbox 360 Scart AV Cable?
Now I'm assuming RGB would be the best way to connect using my old Xbox RGB cable prefrably, if that will not work then I could either opt for S-Video or the new Xbox 360 Scart AV Cable.

Bedroom setup: 19" Dell CRT Monitor

Now I'm no HD expert, but I thought I'd tap in here what I know so someone can advise me the best setup.

The current resolution is set to 1024x768, it goes upto a maximum of 1600x1200.
Would the Xbox 360 HD AV Cable benefit me here, as I would like to get the benefit of HD on my monitor until I can afford the 42" plasma. now the cable on the 360 lead looks the same as a standard monitor cable which goes from your monitor to the PC, but how do i connect it to my monitor from the Xbox as my monitor has no inputs on the back. Does it perphaps go into a male/female scenario of plugging the Xbox 360 VGA cable from 360 into monitors VGA cable which would normally go straight into PC.

I thought this setup would be ideal to get the benefits of HD until the prices of the HD ready LCD and plasmas drop dramatically :rolleyes:

I'm in pretty much the same situation. I think i'm going to hook it up to a monitor, as although screen size will be smaller, the resolution will be much higher. However, with the games being in widescreen, there will be black bars top and bottom i think.