Xbox 360 HD DVD sound issues

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by zapata, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    I have had the 360 HD DVD drive for a few weeks now and have watched several films. The thing I have noticed the most is that speech in the movies is very quiet causing me to turn up the volume to hear what they are saying. The outcome of this is that when a loud scene such as an explosion occurs then it's too loud :eek: The tv is a 42" panny. I have played around with the tv sound settings to exhaustion so just wondered if anyone else has any ideas. I have also tried different settings on the xbox, are there any sound settings for the attachment as I can't find any.
     
  2. emo72

    emo72
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    yea i have the same problem.
    i use an aftermarket speaker system (2.1) i think

    its basically 2 small satellite speakers and a bass unit with built in amp.

    i thought i hadn't got it set up right and just hadn't got round to fixing it.

    but its really annoying and i theresay the neighbours wont be too happy
     
  3. Intya

    Intya
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Ratings:
    +49
    While you're watching an HD-DVD, pull up the settings menu and look for Dynamic Range control, turn it on. Problem solved(ish) :)
     
  4. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    I have looked for settings before but couldn't find any, I take it this available from the remote supplied with the unit, if so do you know which button it is as all I have been able to get is the disc menu and chapters etc.
     
  5. emo72

    emo72
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    thanks intya.

    zap, id say that is an on screen menu like the play button and so on that pops up when u wanna pause a movie.will check it out when i get home
     
  6. thommcghome

    thommcghome
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Press the... B button on a Controller to bring up the Basic control menu; from that select the Advanced option. Go to the Advanced Audio options screen & you'll be able to toggle Dynramic Range Compression.
     
  7. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks, I'll check it out when I next get a chance.
     
  8. stoomc

    stoomc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,752
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Dundee
    Ratings:
    +485
    I have the same "problem" as well with the HDDVD add on as well with the loud scenes being to loud and the quiet being to quiet. Funny thing is, is I dont really have this problem on Blu Ray.

    Can I ask everyone a quick question, was gonna start a new thread but if peeps in here can recommend that would be cool! What do you all have your HDDVD add on set to= DD 5.1 or DTS?

    Thanks :)
     
  9. houdini_7

    houdini_7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    619
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +41
    I have the HD-DVD add-on set to output DTS, I think when this is selected the 360 will pass out the highest possible bit-rate that optical can handle :thumbsup:
     
  10. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17

    I find blu ray better aswell, maybe it's just the quality of the device your playing through, although the HD DVD add on uses the 360 to process most if not all of the data. I will try the DTS setting when I get home to see if it makes any difference.
     

Share This Page

Loading...