Xbox 360->DVD Recorder = purple screen

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by ianpwilliams, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. ianpwilliams

    ianpwilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm trying to use my Xbox 360 as a DVD player. I recorded a TV programme to DVD-RW using my DVD recorder, and now I want to play the finalised DVD-RW on my Xbox 360, into my DVD recorder, so I can record the programme to DVD-R.

    But when I connect the Xbox 360 SCART lead to the back of the DVD recorder, the screen is all purple. To begin with it was flickering too, but I solved that by changing the Xbox 360 output setting to PAL-50. But I still have a purple screen. Does anyone know what could be causing the problem?
     
  2. StevieBuck

    StevieBuck
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +674
    It would be a lot easier to transfer the video from DVD-RW to DVD-R with a PC, rather than the way you're currently trying to do it. Doing it that way means you will get an exact copy of the original disc and the video quality will be exactly the same. Doing it your way will lead to a certain drop in video quality.

    Do you have access to a computer with a DVD burner to do it that way instead?
     
  3. ianpwilliams

    ianpwilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Problem is I was hoping to take the ads out.

    It's strange because when I connect the Xbox 360 to the TV it's fine.
     
  4. JimboJambo86

    JimboJambo86
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +73
    sounds to me like some sort of copy protection in the 360,
    seen as it works directly connected to the tv but not through the dvd recorder.
     
  5. ianpwilliams

    ianpwilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Possibly, although I'm sure I've done it before. I've definitely copied from one DVD to another using a PS3, and a PS2.
     
  6. StevieBuck

    StevieBuck
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +674
    There are free editing tools out there which you can use to cut out the ads after copying the DVD video to your PC. After doing that all you need to do is re-output the video to a DVD structure and burn (i.e no re-encoding required).

    Just an option for you to consider if you can't get it working with the xbox.
     
  7. ianpwilliams

    ianpwilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yeah there is that option. I'm not too keen on it (my PC isn't very good), but I'll consider it. I'm getting a replacement AC adaptor for my PS2, which may also do the trick.

    Thanks for the help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...