xbox 360 connection for LCD

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by matt_p, Nov 3, 2005.

Tags:
  1. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    Just saw on this thread: http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=259524 that the VGA output on the xbox 360 will support 1360x768 (amongst others). Good news for most of us who have 1366x768 screens!

    I am assuming that this will give us the best quality, as there will be no scaling involved. So, if that screen-cap is correct, if you're looking at buying a 1360x768 LCD, make sure it has VGA input in order to get the best quality from your 360.
     
  2. lapino

    lapino
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,474
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Oudenaarde
    Ratings:
    +57
    doesn't matter, component will offer this resolution too. VGA or component (or later HDMI) is the way to go with LCD tv's for xbox360.
     
  3. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    Component, to the best of my knowledge, will only output 480p/576p, 720p and 1080i. 720p is 1280x720, so will be scaled on a 1360x768 screen.
     
  4. king skins

    king skins
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What will be better with the 360? Component or VGA?
     
  5. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,312
    Matt, that's right. Component doesn't support 768p. So, VGA will actually be the connetion of choice for the best picture quality on TVs that support it - unusual.

    Remember though that the VGA modes on many TVs don't allow you to adjust the brightness and contrast etc, so it's not all good news.
     
  6. pez

    pez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Newport
    Ratings:
    +27
    anyone know if the 360 will offer an HDMI out?

    pez
     
  7. will206

    will206
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No it won't.
     
  8. pez

    pez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Newport
    Ratings:
    +27
  9. machinehead

    machinehead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenock
    Ratings:
    +15
    was reading on ch 4 text today that microsoft won't be bringing out any hd games for their 360
     
  10. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    ha ha ha... either that's a poor attempt at trolling or channel 4 are having a larf.
     
  11. Northerner76

    Northerner76
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    926
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wells, Somerset
    Ratings:
    +26
    Exactly what I was thinking... their whole marketing strategy has been based around High Def gaming.... which is slightly undermined by the bog standard DVD drive but is still the underlying premise of the 360 offering!
     
  12. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    You can already get a HDMI cable for the 360, but general opinion is that it just channels the component (analogue) output through the HDMI cable. Not digital, so no performance improvement.

    As LCDs at the moment only seem to support 720p and 1080i over HDMI, I guess that the best connection will remain VGA even if a digital HDMI cable is released. 1360x768 analogue and unscaled is going to give a much better picture than 1280x720 digital and scaled. Unless of course you have a 1280x720 screen, in which case 720p digital will be the connection of choice.

    Confusing stuff!

    Intersting to see too that it supports 1280x768, the old 15:9 resolution. If you've got an older screen with this resolution, VGA is definitely the connection to go for.
     
  13. PaulGT

    PaulGT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm getting confused! Your saying that the HD cable that comes in the pack will not be as good as using an additional VGA cable??
    I've just bought a Panasonic TX26LXD52 HD tv, but it doesnt have vga input! will the component still be up to the task of 720p or 1080i? :lease:
     
  14. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    The HD cable is component. It can output 720p and 1080i, which is 1280x720 and 1980x1080 respectively.

    Most 32" LCDs are 1366x760, so to view 720 or 1080 signals will require scaling by the screen to fill it. In order to get the best possible quality, you should ideally send a signal to the screen that matches its native res. In this case, the VGA of the 360 can send 1360x768, which will match the 1366x768 of most LCDs, resulting in the best possible pic.

    The HD cables outputting 720p to your screen over component will still give a great result, so don't worry too much about it! :thumbsup:
     
  15. pez

    pez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Newport
    Ratings:
    +27
    Ive not seen any HDMI leads advertised for the 360, and the only official word is that they may release them in the future. Heres the official accessories list from america http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/catalog.aspx?g=0&c=10&s=0&p=1

    Ive got a Panasonic ae500 1280x720 projector and a Panasonic TX32LXD500 lcd screen, so i was hoping for HDMI at least for the projector for a 720p image (and a big one at that :) ).

    Its always confused me as to why LCD screen makers use 1366x768 panels for the screens. Wont all HDTV material thats either 720p or 1080i have to be scaled to fit? and in doing so wont it lose some clarity?

    whats the reasoning behind the 1366x768 res?

    and where do those 6 pixels go when i see 1360x768 listed as an xbox resolution over VGA?

    sorry to take the thread off at a tangent, but ive never heard an answer to the question.

    pez
     
  16. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    It's not official, it's a third party one. I'm sure the official one will be digital as and when.

    You just get a 3 columns of black pixels either side of the image. Can't notice it at all.
     
  17. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,056
    Component will be 720p, so will be scaled by the TV to fit its native resolution. It'll still look great.


    VGA can output directly at 1360x768, so may not be scaled by the TV. BUT - the Xbox 360 will be rendering games at 720p, so *it* will scale to 1360x768 before outputting over VGA. It'll still look great.

    So whichever solution you go with there will be scaling from 1280x720 to 1360x768/1366x768
     
  18. pez

    pez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Newport
    Ratings:
    +27
    ahhh, wasnt aware that the xbox was locked into a res and then scaled it to fit the selected output. I thought it was more along the PC gaming lines, ie, select your res and the gfx processor renders everything at that res.

    The question then is what will have the better scaler? the xbox360 or your TV?

    pez
     

Share This Page

Loading...