Xbox 360 5.1 surround sound HELP PLEASE!

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Shayne AFC, Nov 27, 2010.

  1. Shayne AFC

    Shayne AFC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have the new xbox 350 with the 250gb harddrive.
    i have it on my samsung tv via a HDMI cable and have it plugged into my surround sound via an optical cable.
    the sound comes out great but it is only coming out of 2 speakers, how do i get it to come out of all 5, i have changed the setting on the dashboard to 5.1 and nothing has changed
    PLEASE HELP, thanks
     
  2. DamianMason

    DamianMason
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Is this for streaming media or for games?

    If you're streaming remember you need to have DivX installed as well as the AC3 filter on your computer to playback mkvs.
     
  3. JohnDenholm

    JohnDenholm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    What surround kit?

    it could be something as simple as going to to your audio settings on the Xbox and make sure the output is set to 'Dolby 5.1'
     
  4. devildog93

    devildog93
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    In the Peace area....that is close enough.
    Ratings:
    +1
    As far as I understand, the 360 only accepts 2 channel audio in a stream. Unless that audio is a specific Windows codec. One of the variants of WMA I believe.

    PS3 Media server does have a variant version called MAGMA that was specifically designed to make streaming 5.1 audio (DTS/DD) to a 360 possible.
    PS3 Media Server: Magma Edition
    It hasnt been updated recently, but it worked when I used to stream to my 360.:)

    I have yet to find a good Windows based (WMP/WMC) for streaming HD audio or video to the 360.

    TVersity, as well, can be tweaked, but I found I spent more time messing with it than actually watching videos.:thumbsdow

    It hasn't been updated in a while.....and I only stream to my PS3 (using the official release....tweaked to my liking), so I can't tell you if it will work properly for you.

    But another possible option for 5.1 streaming.....as well you get the added bonus of using the best media server for all your other videos and other media........IMHO:)

    It real time updates, transcodes on-the-fly, higher playback success rate than all other media players I have tried.
    And the MAGMA edition might suit you well.

    Peace.
     
  5. niall campbell

    niall campbell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    if you have the TV optical out to amp as well as using HDMI , then Samsung only outputs stereo 2 channel

    try putting the cable from the xbox to the amp
     
  6. Watchcote

    Watchcote
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Shrewsbury
    Ratings:
    +7
    Sounds like a daft question, but have you set up your amp for 5:1 or is it set for stereo? Mine does allsorts and you have to choose the correct output!
     
  7. Dinky Dragon

    Dinky Dragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke - Dao's Zen Grotto
    Ratings:
    +347
    You want

    Xbox (HDMI) TV
    Xbox (Optical) AMP

    OR

    XBox (HDMI IN) AMP (HDMI OUT) TV
     
  8. BoonDog

    BoonDog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    right, the above posts may have answered this for me already... which will put an end to it I guess :thumbsdow but let me see if I understood it correct.

    I have a win7 64bit laptop with media center that connects to my 360 slim 250gb via the extender.

    My xbox is connected to my Onkyo 607 via optical (toslink).
    My Xbox plays games in full dolby digital 5.1

    I have the Shark007 codec pack installed.
    WMC extender plays MKVs, MP4s etc perfectly... apart from it only ever sees 2channel audio no matter what I do.

    My laptop only has a standard 2 channel headphone jack, or an available HD audio driver from Nvidia if I connect it via HDMI (defeats the point of streaming!).

    My questions:
    1. Because my laptop only recognises 2channels (ctrl pnl > sound), then media center only allows me to configure 2 channels via the tasks > setup, there for the stream will always be 2 channels.

    Is this the reason why the xbox only gets 2 channels? Are there anyways to change this?

    or
    2. is it because when you stream (even know the source file has a full 5.1 audio stream in it) WMC will only ever stream 2 channels. This would be very frustrating indeed!

    Ideally I would like the streaming file to pass all of the sound info over the stream, then let the Extender/AV grab the most appropriate setup for it. Either that or actually allow a way to configure the extender sound seperately from the parent WMC on my laptop.

    Am I wishing for to much here? It really is starting to drive me mad so anyone with some insight in the matter would save what ever hair I have left!:lease:
     
  9. niall campbell

    niall campbell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    why doesnt the xbox connect via HDMI to amp

    then HDMI from amp to TV ?
     
  10. BoonDog

    BoonDog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    er... it does? not sure you've understood the question properly...

    everything goes into my Onkyo 607.. there is no issue with the picture (which is the only thing being transmitted via HDMI from the xbox), so I only listed the audio link between devices (optical via toslink).

    I have played around with formats, and forcing the shark codecs to output in 5.1 and did have some success... so think it may be more down to the encoding of the sound channels in the movies... will update if I narrow it down to the definitive answer
     
  11. niall campbell

    niall campbell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    i must be missing something then

    the HDMI channel should carry the audio formats so therefore no need for optical cable ? ! ? :facepalm:
     
  12. BoonDog

    BoonDog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    yes, you can carry audio and video with the HDMI cable, but this isn't 'optimal'. As the optical output from the xbox will allow you a better digital to digital connection via the toslink, this is what I am using...
     
  13. niall campbell

    niall campbell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
  14. themediaman

    themediaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,018
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +171
    Can you try watching a 5.1 movie off a USB drive, I think it may be to do with the windows media sharing, so you might be best with another software........

    Good luck.......
     
  15. The Dreamer

    The Dreamer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,705
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    146
    Location:
    Not where I want to be!
    Ratings:
    +2,560
    I have a similar setup (Onkyo 606) which works flawlessly when not using the TOSLINK for Audio (I have never tried).

    Xbox receives stream over network, feeds into Onkyo amp via HDMI (only), amp plays 5.1 sound, (Samsung) TV displays picture from HDMI feed - simples! :smashin:

    I use VOB rips of DVDs remuxed into MPG files - audio stream hasn't been touched.

    HTH
     
  16. Wyclif

    Wyclif
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a similar question. Except I plan on either playing Netflix or just plan DVDs with the Xbox 360. I've got an older (~2002is) OnkyoTX-SR500 receiver. because of its age it has no HDMI ports. I have a Vizio TV with an optical port, which happens to be the most advanced audio port on the receiver as well. So is it possible to get 5.1 out of the Xbox? If so which is the proper setup?

    Should I go : Vizio to receiver via Optical w/ Xbox 360 to Vizio via HDMI?

    OR

    Xbox 360 to Vizio via HDMI w/ the older composite/component cables which had an optical port on it to the Receiver?
     
  17. themediaman

    themediaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,018
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +171
    Optical from xbox to onkyo......for audio......

    Hdmi from xbox to tv for video......at no point do you need video going to an audio decoder......

    Sent from my HTC Legend using AVForums
     
  18. The Dreamer

    The Dreamer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,705
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    146
    Location:
    Not where I want to be!
    Ratings:
    +2,560
    ...unless your TV hasn't enough HDMI inputs and your AV amp provides for HDMI switching - which the Onkyo does.

    Also, helps eliminate any lip-sync issues one may get by feeding the Audio and Video via seperate means - note, I'm not saying that you will have lip sync issues if you choose to split A + V, just that they should be minimized by keeping them together (that, and the Onkyo allows to correct for lip-sync should you so desire.)

    I have simply kept my setup the same from when I was using a TV with only one available HDMI socket, to the multitude I now have available...... - with no issues wrt surround sound.

    ATB
     
  19. Wyclif

    Wyclif
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sadly my Onkyo does not have any HDMI input. The OnkyoTX-SR500 is from ~2002 and was therefore pre-broad adoption of the standard.

    Should I expect HDMI video and optical audio sync issues? What usually causes it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...